Legislators default on furnishing property info

 Lokayukta Justice Y Bhaskar Rao has submitted a report to Governor H R Bhardwaj on legislators who have not declared their property details for 2011-12.

The MLAs who have not submitted the property details are: Vittal Katakadonda, Ramanna S Lamani, Srishailappa Bidarur and Chandrakanth Bellad, all of the ruling BJP.

The MLCs who have not furnished the details are: Amarnath Patil, Raghunath Rao Malkapure, Shashil G Namoshi (all BJP) and Syed Mudir Aga (JD-S).

As per Section 22 of the Lokayukta Act, every minister and member of the legislature has to submit a statement of his/her assets and liabilities and those of their immediate family members by June 30 every year.

According to sources, since the Lokayukta posts were lying vacant last year, no investigation was carried out with regard to property details of the legislators.

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !

Dear Reader,

Welcome to our new site! We would appreciate it if you could send us your feedback about our site to ​ dhfeedback@deccanherald.co.in

Thanks for your support!