Raninder elected NRAI chief

Raninder elected NRAI chief

Raninder Singh was on Saturday re-elected unopposed as president of the National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) for a four-year term.

This is Raninder’s second term in office. He was first elected president of the NRAI in December 2010 when he defeated Shyam Singh Yadav by a huge margin.

He got an overwhelming support from across the country getting 517 votes out of 843 for the authorisation to nominate members to the general house.

The vice-presidents elected were Ajay Patel (Gujarat), Deep Bhatia (Haryana), Putuul Kumari (Bihar), M S Rana (Uttarakhand) and Kalikesh Kumar (Odisha).

Tamil Nadu’s D V S Rao has been appointed the Secretary General while Jagmeet Singh Sethi and Darius Chennai have been elected as joint secretaries. Sanjay Behl was appointed the treasurer. 

The general body also nominated six persons, including former shooter and current International Olympic Committee member in India, Randhir Singh, to various honorary posts for their contribution in promoting the sport in the country. Randhir was nominated as life president.

The other five were B S Adityan (life president), Sunny Thomas (life vice-president), Navin Jindal (patron–in–chief), Jagjit Singh (patron), Col Jaswant Singh (chairman emeritus), T S Dhillon (vice chairman emeritus).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)