25 file nominations for two constituencies in Kodagu

Nominations will be scrutinised today

As many as 25 persons have filed their nominations for Madikeri and Virajpet constituencies for Assembly polls of May 5, in Kodagu district.

The names of those filed for Madikeri constituency are S P Mahadevappa (BSP), M V Santhosh Kumar (independent), M P Appachu Ranjan (BJP), B A Jeevijaya (JD(S), K M Lokesh (Cong), Rafique (independent), Shambhulingappa(KJP), Nijamuddin (independent), Vanajakshi (independent), K M Basheer (JD(S), M P Harish (Independent),D S Guruprasad (independent), C V Nagesh (independent), Dr B C Nanjappa (independent), K P Rasheeda (independent).  The candidates who filed nominations from Virajpet constituency are B T Pradeep (Cong). K G BOpiah (BJP), A A Usman (SDPI), D S Madappa (JDS), M N Ayyappa (BSR Cong), Changappa (CPM), Udaya (independent), Maranna Dilip Kumar (independent), Giri Uthappa (independent) and Vijaysingh David (independent).

Nominations will be scrutinised on April 18. The last date for withdrawal of nomination is April 20.

Ranjan fears defeat

KJP district spokesperson Udaykumar has accused minister Appachu Ranjan of making allegations against Viraktamutt seer in Somwarpet.

He said that Ranjan had stated that the seer had campaigned in favour of the KJP.  “Ranjan is scared of the KJP and fearing defeat in the election. Why Ranjan is levelling unnecessary allegations against KJP?” he asked.

“KJP is not restricted to Lingayats alone. It is a party for all the communities. KJP candidate Shambhulingappa is secular. The KJP has shown good performance in the ULB polls,” he said.

KJP chief B S Yeddyurappa will campaign in Madikeri and Shanivarasanthe on April 27. He will address the party workers.


As many as 49 persons have filed 62 nominations in five Assembly constituencies of Chikmagalur on Wednesday.

Twelve persons filed 13 nominations in Chikmagalur constituency. They are Vedamurthy and D S Ashok (KJP), Annavel (BSR cong), T Harish (JDU), Uddappa Ningayya (CPI(ML), Shankaralinge Gowda (Lokasatha Party), Apsar Pasha (NCP), M M Sudheer, Vijay Kumar, Gurushanthappa, Dharme Gowda (independent).

As many as nine candidates have filed 12 nominations in Kadur constituency. Birur Devaraj (BJP), Belliprakash (KJP), Kemparaju (BSR Congress), Y S V Datta (JD(S), Kumar Naik (Welfare Party of India), Janardhan Rao, Gangadhar, Nagaraju and Shivarudrappa (independent).

Twenty one nominations were filed by 15 persons in Tarikere constituency. G H Srinivas (Congress), K Manjunath (Congress), T R Nagaraj (JD(S), D C Suresh (Sarvodaya Karnataka), D S Suresh (KJP), Anusooya, A Suresh, V Jayaram, Kantharaju, Paramesh Nayak, H Omkarappa, D R Neelakantappa, T S Suresh, H P Ahok (independents).

About 10 nominations were filed by seven persons in Sringeri constituency. The are D N Jeevraj (BJP), Poornesh (BSR Congress), T C Rajendra (JD(S), Umesh and Basavaraj (CPI(ML), Abraham and K V Mahesh (independent).

As many as six nominations were filed by six candidates in Mudigere. They are M P Kumarasway (BJP), B N Chandrappa (Cong), Sathi Sundaresh (CPI), B B Ningaiah (JD(S), H Manjunath (BSR Congress) and B M Ramesh (independent).

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !

Dear Reader,

Welcome to our new site! We would appreciate it if you could send us your feedback about our site to ​ dhfeedback@deccanherald.co.in

Thanks for your support!