2,295 jump into Assembly poll fray

2,295 jump into Assembly poll fray

2,295 jump into Assembly poll fray

As many as 2,295 candidates have filed their nominations from 224 Assembly constituencies for the May 5 polls as the last day for filing candidature closed on Wednesday.

The battlelines for the big fight will be drawn on April 20, the last date for withdrawal of nominations. The nominations will be scrutinised on Thursday.

Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar filled his nomination papers from the Hubli-Dharwad Central constituency. Accompanied by his wife Shilpa Shettar, BJP State president Pralhad Joshi, party members Suryakanth Jadi, Mahesh Tenginakai, Pradeep Shettar and BJP Hubli-Dharwad East candidate Veerabhardappa Halharavi, Shettar submitted his nomination paper to the Hubli-Dharwad Municipal Commissioner V S Patil.

Speaking to reporters, Shettar said the BJP was confident of getting a majority. The party would announce its manifesto in the next two-three days. It would concentrate on the development of the entire State, he added. “The Congress is our main competitor and even in my constituency, I see a challenge from them.” Dr Mahesh Nalvad, Congress, is contesting opposite Shettar.

Taking a swipe at the Congress leaders for the huge number of CM aspirants in the party, he said “There are four-five CM aspiring candidates in the Congress. Many of the candidates have already allocated their portfolio, but when the results will be announced they will be utterly disappointed.”

Deputy Chief Minister K S Eshwarappa filed papers from Shimoga Urban constituency. He came to the City Municipal Council office in a procession to submit his papers. His wife Vijayalakshmi, Rajya Sabha member Ayanur Manjunath, State BJP vice-president M B Bhanuprakash and others accompanied him.

At the party workers’ meet held later, Manjunath said former chief minister and KJP president B S Yeddyurappa was a victim of the mistakes committed by his sons.
Other prominent leaders to file papers were JD(S) candidate from Shimoga Urban constituency M Srikanth, Congress candidate Kimmane Ratnakar and BJP candidate Araga Jnanendra from Teerthahalli constituency.

Former Union minister C M Ibrahim filed his nomination paper from Bhadravathi.
  Ibrahim came to the taluk office along with his supporters and filed papers. Heated arguments were exchanged between the supporters of Ibrahim and  Sangamesh when  the Congress official candidate was interacting with media persons outside the taluk office. The situation was on the verge of turning ugly. Noticing this, police personnel, who were present there, resorted to light caning to disperse the mob. 

Former minister S S Mallikarjun filed papers from Congress for Davangere North segment while B S Jagadeesh and  Sanganagowdru filed nomination as KJP and JD(S) candidates respectively.

   Former ministers S K Kantha, Qamarul Islam, senior leader Shashil Namoshi, former MLA Kailasnath Patil, well known dalit leader D G Sagar and Dattatreya Patil Revoor were among 116 candidates who filed nomination papers in Gulbarga district.

Former labour minister and veteran labour leader S K Kantha filed his papers from Gulbarga South constituency on the Karnataka Janata Party ticket. A two-time MLA Kantha was accompanied by a large number of supporters and well wishers.  Former Chincholi MLA and son of former chief minister Veerendra Patil, Kailasnath Patil of the Congress, Shashil Namoshi, who till recently was in the BJP and switched over to Janata Dal (Secular), and Dattatreya Patil Revoor, who long ago had been declared the JD (S) candidate switched over to BJP, also filed their papers from the same constituency. Dattatreya was accompanied among others by his mother Aruna Patil is the sitting MLA.

State Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Anil Kumar Jha said that 586 nominations were received on Wednesday.  In all, 2,947 nominations have been received with several candidates, especially from major parties, filing multiple nomination papers as a precautionary measure.

 Gulbarga (South) assembly constituency has received  nominations from the highest number of candidates (30) followed by  Raichur and Mulbagal constituency (24). As many as 23 constituencies have received nominations from more than 16 candidates.
Other constituencies which with high number of candidates include Hangal (22), Tumkur (20), Varuna (19), Chikaballapur (19), Bagepalli (21).

In case candidates in these constituencies do not withdraw their candidatures, polling booths in these segments will have two balloting units as each unit of the EVM has provision for only 16 candidates.     

The party-wise break-up of nomination papers filed are as follows: Congress: 408, BJP: 360, JD(S): 309; KJP: 230; BSR Congress: 13,  BSP: 129. As many as 1,051 nominations have been filed by independents.

Soldier on poll duty dies of heart attack

A BSF soldier deputed for election duty died of heart attack at Thirthahalli, on Wednesday, reports DHNS from Shimoga. The deceased has been identified as Balawan Singh  (45) of Jammu and Kashmir.

Three battalions have been deployed for poll security in Thirthahalli constituency. Balawan Singh, from Rajastan 107 Baramal Battalion was staying in the Morarji Desai Residential School near Anandagiri.

Police sub-inspector Chandrashekhar informed that the arrangements were made to send the  body to Jammu and Kashmir. Thirthahalli police has registered the case.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)