Beagles, DYSS claim top honours

Beagles, DYSS claim top honours

Beagles Basketball Club and DYSS, Mandya clinched the boys’ and girls’ titles respectively in the State Youth (under-16) basketball championship at the Sree Kanteerava stadium on Friday.

Coming into their semifinal league match against SAI, Dharwad after having won two matches, Beagles BC needed a win to claim the crown and they put on a show worthy of champions.

Led from the front by power-forward Erash’s efforts under the board, Beagles scored a 42-32 win over SAI, who settled for the second spot on the table with two wins.

The eleventh standard student from Kendriya Vidyalaya, Jalahalli was especially impressive in the paint while SAI’s defenders found no possible way of guarding the big man.

Erash’s team-mate Chetan (10), ninth standard student from MES, was the other player who stole the show with his work around the perimeter. For SAI, Durgaprasad was the sole contributor with nine points.

In the other semifinal league match, Young Orions edged out Appaiah BC to finish third with one win from three matches.

In the girls’ section, DYSS Mandya were given a scare by a well-oiled Sports School, Vidyanagar before they went on to win their final semifinal league encounter 50-48.
DYSS, riding on Bhandavya (20) and Supritha (11) had it easy for three quarters as they charged ahead with little resistance from Sports School but the latter’s late surge -- 18-7 -- in the fourth quarter sent a shiver down their spines before they held their nerve.
Priyanka (14) and Bhoomika (12) were the chief scorers for Sports School.

In the second semifinal league match, Mounts Club edged out Vimanapura SC in a low-scoring encounter to bag the runners-up trophy. Lopamudra (19) was the top scorer for Mounts.

Results: Boys (semifinal league): Beagles BC: 42 (Erash 18, Chetan 10) bt SAI, Dharwad: 32 (Durgaprasad 9). HT: 28-25; Young Orions: 43 (Nikhil 9) bt Appaiah BC: 40 (Akarsh 11). HT: 23-21.

Girls: DYSS, Mandya: 50 (Bhandavya 20, Supritha 11) bt Sports School, Vidyanagar: 48 (Priyanka 14, Bhoomika 12). HT: 30-20; Mounts Club: 33 (Lopamudra 19) bt Vimanapura SC: 24 (Krupa 6). HT: 14-17.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)