56 in fray in Chikmagalur

23 candidates for 2 constituencies in Kodagu

With the withdrawal of 17 candidates, as many as 56 candidates are in fray in Chikmagalur district. The nominations of 73 candidates in five Assembly constituencies was in order after the scrutiny on Thursday.

As many as 23 persons are in fray for the Assembly elections of May 5 in Kodagu district. Independent candidate Giri Uthappa from Virajpet constituency had withdrawn his candidature on Saturday.

There are 15 candidates in Chikmagalur constituency. They are Apsar Pasha (NCP), S L Dharme Gowda (JD(S), C T Ravi (BJP), K S Shanthe Gowda (Congress), Dwarakish (Hindustan Nirman Dala), K B Vedamurthy (KJP), Suresh CPI (ML), T Harish JD(S), Apsar Pasha, U K Gurushanthappa, Dharme Gowda, Muniya Bovi, K Revanna, M M Sudheer and Snake Naresh (independents).

Nine candidates who are in Kadur assembly constituency are Birur Devaraj (BJP), K B Mallikarjuna (Cong), Y S V Datta (JDS), K S Prakash (KJP), Kemparaju (BSR Congress), G M Madhu (Lokasatha Party), B T Kumar (Welfare Party of India), K R Gangadharappa and K H Nagaraju (independents).

There are 16 candidates in Tarikere constituency. Thet are T J Avinash (BJP), T R Nagaraj (JD(S), G H Srinivas (Congress), T S Devaraj (Samajawadi party), K Manjunath (BSR Cong), D S Suresh (KJP), D C Suresh (Sarvodaya Karnataka Paksha), H P Ashok, H M Gopi, V Jayaramu, Theerthappa, B R Neelakantappa, H S Neelakantappa, B R Paramesh Naik, A Suresh, T S Suresh (independents). Eight candidates are in fray in Sringeri. They are D N Jeevraj (BJP), T D Raje Gowda (Cong), T C Rajendra (JD(S), Umesh (CPI (ML), G R Poornesh (BSR Congress), Abraham, K C Prakash, and K V Mahesh (independents).

There are eight candidates in Mudigere constituency. They are M P Kumaraswamy (BJP), B N Chandrappa (Congress), B B Ningaiah (JD(S), U B Manjaiah (SP), Sathi Sundaresh (CPI), D Kumar (CPI(ML), Nanjunda and B M Ramesh (independents).

The final list of candidates in Madikeri constituency are K M Lokesh (Cong), M P Appachu Ranjan (BJP), B A Jeevijaya (JD(S), S P Mahadevappa (BSP), Shambhulingappa (KJP), Vanajakshi (CPIML), K M Basheer (JD(S), M V Santhosh Kumar, Rafeeq, Nijamuddin, M P Harish Poovaiah, Dr B C Nanjappa, D S Guruprasad  (independents) and C V Nagesh (JD(S) rebel).

In Virajpet constituency, those candidates who are in fray are K G Bopaiah (BJP), B T Pradeep (Congress), D S Madappa (JD(S), Changappa (CPIML), Janith Ayyappa (BSR Congress), Usman (SDPI), Vijay SIngh, R David, Maranna Dilip Kumar, and Someyanda D Uday (independents).

Awareness programme

Chikmagalur Zilla panchayat CEO P Shivashankar said that to increase the poll percentage, awareness programme will be held by visiting the houses in urban and rural areas.

Speaking at a meeting under Systematic Voters Education and Electoral Participation Plan (SVEEP), the door-to-door awareness programme will be held from April 24 to 29.

A team has been constituted in each ward. The team will have officials from TMC, CMC, town panchayat, education, BCM, social welfare, health departments and angnawdi workers. Pamphlets have been printed to create awareness on the need for exercising franchise.
DH News Service

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !

Dear Reader,

Welcome to our new site! We would appreciate it if you could send us your feedback about our site to ​ dhfeedback@deccanherald.co.in

Thanks for your support!