Voters list revised, 70,000 new voters enrol

2 EVMs to be used in 3 constituencies

Voters list revised, 70,000 new voters enrol

Irrespective of the number of people choosing to vote in the upcoming Assembly elections, as many as 21,71,915 persons are eligible to vote in Mysore district. So, 2,578 polling stations will be set up.

There are 11,01,671 men, 10,70,141 women and 103 voters are listed as ‘Others’. Compared to January 2013, 73,234 new voters have enrolled. 99.72 per cent of the electors have been issued Electoral Photo Identity cards.

The number of polling stations have been increased by 40 for the May 5 elections, while location of 88 polling stations will be changed.

Out of 11 constituencies in the district, Chamundeshwari has the maximum number of voters at 2,26,445. Hunsur is second with 2,01,581 voters, followed by Krishnaraja with 2,01,302 voters.

Chamundeshwari constituency also has the highest number of polling stations at 287, followed by Hunsur, 263.

The number of sensitive polling stations in the district are 897, while 413 of them are listed as hyper-sensitive.

Among urban constituencies, Narasimharaja has 81 hyper-sensitive and 95 sensitive polling stations. Out of 210 polling stations in Narasimharaja, 83 per cent are either sensitive or hyper-sensitive. Of 203 polling stations in Chamaraja constituency, 52 are hyper-sensitive and 60 are sensitive, while Krishnaraja has 18 hyper-sensitive and 77 sensitive polling stations.

Among rural constituencies, K R Nagar has 59 hyper-sensitive and 107 sensitive polling stations, followed by H D Kote, with 47 hyper-sensitive and 130 sensitive polling stations.

Candidates, nominations

After 41 candidates withdrawing their nominations, 160 candidates are left in the fray — 155 of them men and only five women.

One candidate from Narasimharaja constituency is a transgender, but is listed as male.

The BJP, Congress and JD(S) have fielded candidates in all constituencies, while Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has candidates in six constituencies.

There are 55 candidates from regional, unrecognised, political parties, while 66 Independent candidates are contesting the Assembly elections.

The maximum number of Independent candidates are at Varuna constituency (15), followed by 10 Independents at Krishnaraja.

Two EVM’s
In three constituencies of the district, Varuna, Chamaraja and Krishnaraja, two Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) will be used in all polling stations of these constituencies as the number of candidates exceed 16. Varuna has 27 candidates, Chamaraja has 20 and Krishnaraja has 19 candidates in the fray.

Since, only 16 candidates can be listed in an EVM, an additional EVM will be used to

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !

Dear Reader,

Welcome to our new site! We would appreciate it if you could send us your feedback about our site to ​

Thanks for your support!