Kallis to miss Champions Trophy

Kallis to miss Champions Trophy

JP Duminy was named in South Africa’s Champions Trophy squad on Thursday but veteran all-rounder Jacques Kallis will miss the tournament due to personal reasons.

Duminy suffered a horror Achilles injury on South Africa's Test tour of Australia last November and missed out on the side’s golden summer when they cemented their place as the world’s number one Test team.

His return is a significant boost for coach Gary Kirsten as the 29-year-old provides depth in the middle order batting apart from an additional spin-bowling option.
Although he is not yet fully fit, Duminy has been batting in the nets and running with no discomfort. The team will be led by AB de Villiers, who is also the only wicket-keeping option in the squad but has had back problems as recently as March.
South Africa will begin their Champions Trophy campaign against India at Cardiff on June 6.

Squad: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Robbie Peterson, Aaron Phangiso, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.
Mendis included

Sri Lanka named a 15-member squad for the Champions Trophy with the selectors continuing to snub spinner Ajantha Mendis. Besides Mendis, batsman Upul Tharanga also failed to find a place in the squad for the June 6-23 tournament.
Angelo Mathews, who captained Pune Warriors in the ongoing IPL before dropping himself, will lead the Sri Lankan squad with Dinesh Chandimal being named his deputy.
“Since he (Welegedara) returned home from Australia with a hamstring injury he has gone through a rehabilitation programme and has been declared fit by the team physio,” said chairman of selectors Sanath Jayasuriya.
Squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal (vice-captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Janith Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena, Lahiru Thirimanne, Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath, Nuwan Kulasekera Shaminda Eranga, Sachithra Senanayake and Chanaka Welagedera.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)