Delhi no match for superb Sunrisers

Hyderabad side moves to third spot on the table

Delhi no match for superb Sunrisers

Sunrisers Hyderabad bowlers fired in unison as they posted a comprehensive six-wicket win over Delhi Daredevils in the Indian Premier League on Saturday, brightening their chances of playing in the play-offs.

After bowling out Delhi for 80 -- this season’s lowest score, Hyderabad chased down the target with 37 balls to spare to move to third on the table. The defeat has also virtually ruled out Delhi’s chances of advancing to the next stage.

Dale Steyn, Thisara Perera and Darren Sammy picked up two wickets each while there were one apiece for Ishant Sharma, Karan Sharma and Amit Mishra.

Shikhar Dhawan top-scored for the hosts with 22 while Darren Sammy remained unbeaten on 18 as the side posted its fifth win in as many games at home. Dhawan was his usual self from the word go, hitting three front-line Delhi pacers for boundaries. Irfan Pathan, Umesh Yadav and Ashish Nehra could hardly pose tough questions as Dhawan dominated proceedings.

The highlight of Dhawan’s cameo was the boundary off Nehra, who was driven through cover-point after the batsman made room for himself.
The flamboyant left-hander then stood tall and drove Yadav between cover and mid-off for another boundary.

However, his entertaining stay was cut short as Johan Botha had Dhawan trapped in front of the stumps with a skidy delivery that seemed to be heading down the legside.
A Ashish Reddy was off the mark in a jiffy and that too in style, punching away a short-of-a-length Nehra delivery through covers for four. But that was it as the batsman was sent back by Nehra who had him caught behind.

Parthiv Patel, after spending some time in the middle, misread a googly by Jeevan Mendis to be stumped by Kedar Jadhav for 14.

Even as the hosts ambled, skipper Kumar Sangakkara fell to Botha while going for a needless heave and could not clear long-off where Umesh Yadav completed the catch.
Hyderabad could have lost another wicket as Botha appealed for a caught behind, but
the umpire ruled in favour of Hanuma Vihari.

Sammy helped Hyderabad close in on the target with a six off Mendis over long-on, before Vihari drove Yadav to bring up the win. Earlier, a combination of some disciplined bowling from Hyderabad aided by a pathetic batting saw the hosts bowl out Delhi for a paltry total.

Opting to bat after the coin landed in skipper Mahela Jayawardene’s favour, Delhi lost wickets at regular intervals to leave the hosts with a real chance of consolidating their position in the points table.

This is also the second time in this edition that Daredevils have been dismissed for less than 100 -- the first one coming against Chennai Super Kings at the Feroz Shah Kotla last month.

The first casualty was the skipper himself, trapped in front of the wicket by Ishant Sharma after what appeared to be a watchful start to the visitors’ innings in yet another must-win game. Next to go was Virender Sehwag, whose off-stump was disturbed by Darren Sammy, who celebrated the big wicket by performing his by-now-familiar act -- sucking on a pacifier hanging around his neck.

score board

DELHI  DAREDEVILS: Mahela Jayawardene lbw Ishant 11, Virender Sehwag b Sammy 8, Unmukt Chand b Steyn 17, David Warner st Patel b Mishra 8, Jeevan Mendis c Ishant b Sammy 11, Kedar Jadhav c&b Karan 3, Irfan Pathan b Steyn 13, Johan Botha c Parthiv b Perera 1, Shahbaz Nadeem (run out) 0, Ashish Nehra b Perera 0, Umesh Yadav (not out) 2. Extras (B-1, LB-1, W-3, NB-1) 6. Total (all out, 19.1 overs) 80.

Fall of wickets: 1-13, 2-32, 3-50, 4-52, 5-57, 6-70, 7-73, 8-77, 9-78.

Bowling: Dale Steyn 4-0-21-2, Ishant Sharma 3-1-11-1, Thisara Perera 3.1-0-11-2, Darren Sammy 3-0-10-2, Karan Sharma 2-0-9-1, Amit Mishra 4-0-16-1.

SUNRISERS  HYDERABAD: Parthiv Patel st Jadhav b Mendis 14, Shikhar Dhawan lbw Botha 22, A Ashish Reddy c Jadhav b Nehra 5, Darren Sammy (not out) 18, K Sangakkara c Yadav b Botha 8, Hanuma Vihari (not out) 11. Extras (W-3) 3. Total (for 4 wkts, 13.5 overs) 81.

Fall of wickets: 1-33, 2-41, 3-43, 4-60.

Bowling: Irfan Pathan 1-0-6-0, Umesh Yadav 2.5-0-27-0, Ashish Nehra 2-0-14-1, Johan Botha 3-0-11-2, Jeeven Mendis 3-0-16-1, Shahbaz Nadeem 2-0-7-0.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)