Congress knocks out BJP in Mumbai-Karnataka

Party comes up trumps in Bijapur, Bagalkot, Gadag and Haveri

Congress knocks out BJP in Mumbai-Karnataka

 The Congress has swept the BJP out of Mumbai-Karnataka region, comprising seven districts of north Karnataka.

Out of a total 56 seats, the Congress went beyond its own expectations by bagging 34 seats. While the BJP has managed to retain just 14, the KJP has bagged two seats and the Janata Dal-S (JD-S) and BSR Congress one each.

The BJP had impressed in the 2008 Assembly elections, capturing 38 constituencies in the region.

The newly floated KJP and BSR Congress have opened their accounts in the region. While the KJP has won two seats – one each in Uttara Kannada and Haveri, BSR has won one seat in Belgaum district.

The KJP was expected to make a big difference in Haveri district, which B S Yeddyurappa held close to his heart, but it failed. Its four former MLAs, including C M Udasi, lost.
After a long gap, the Maharashtra Ekikarana Samiti (MES) has managed to win two seats, including one in Belgaum city.

The Congress has impressed, especially in Bijapur, Bagalkot and Gadag, where it has literally crushed the BJP. It has won seven of the eight seats in Bijapur, all four seats in Gadag, six out of seven in Bagalkot and four out of six in Haveri district.

The JD(S)’ performance in Mumbai-Karnataka was very poor as it won only one seat (N H Konareddy - Navalgund in Dharwad district). The efforts of party supremo Deve Gowda and State president H D Kumaraswamy to extend its base have failed.

Several bigwigs fell by the wayside in the region. They include sitting ministers C M Udasi, Murugesh Nirani, M S Bellubbi, C C Patil, Kalakappa Bandi and Anand Asnotikar, former union minister Basangouda Patil Yatnal of the JD(S) and Abhay Patil of the BJP.

Among prominent winners were two from the BJP, Govind Karjol and Balachandra Jarkiholi, and two from the Congress, H K Patil and R V Deshpande.

Prakash Hukkeri of the Congress and Balachandra Jarkiholi of the BJP from Belgaum district romped home by huge margins of 76,588 votes and 75,221 votes, respectively. The BJP has been decimated in Bellary district of Hyderabad-Karnataka region, winning only one seat.

The Congress bagged four of the nine seats, the BSR Congress two, the JD(S) and Independent one each.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)