Independents win majority of elections here

 Nagamangala constituency in the district has time and again proved that candidates, rather than party, is important when it comes to Assembly elections, as six Independent candidates have won in nine out of 16 elections held so far.

Among 16 elections held in the constituency, three were by-elections. M Shankaralingegowda, who contested the first election in 1952 as an Independent candidate, won. A by-election was held, following his death within six months. Congress candidate K Singari Gowda, who was defeated in the first election, emerged successful.

T N Madappa, who lost to T Mariyappa of Praja Socialist Party in 1957 and to K Singarigowda of Congress in 1962, achieved success in 1967 as an Independent. He won the 1972 election also, but died within six months of the election. In the ensuing by-election, another Independent, H T Krishnappa won. He got re-elected in 1978, against Singarigowda, who contested on a Janata Party ticket. Krishnappa, who joined Congress in 1983, was defeated by another Independent candidate Chigari Gowda.

Krishnappa was lucky as an Independent again and won the by-election ensued by the death of Chigari Gowda in 1985. Even though Krishnappa was in the Congress, he did not get B Form from the party and contested on a different symbol (elephant). Unfortunately, the Assembly was dissolved the same year, before Krishnappa entered the Assembly. So, he had to face a second election the same year and emerged victor on a Janata Dal ticket.
L R Shivaramegowda, an Independent candidate, won the elections in 1989 and 1994. But lost in 1999 as Congress candidate to N Chaluvarayaswamy of JD(S).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)