'B' Division title for Tilak Memorial

'B' Division title for Tilak Memorial

Abhilesh and Akhilesh struck a brace each as Tilak Memorial prevailed over Southern Blues 5-3 to emerge champions in the BDFA ‘B’ Division League Championship here at the Bangalore Football Stadium on Saturday.

With their ninth win from 11 matches, Tilak Memorial signed off their campaign with 28 points, earning themselves a ticket to next season’s ‘A’ Division.

The runners-up, who will also gain promotion, will be decided on Sunday when Bangalore Independent take on Southern Blues.

On 22 points, Bangalore Independent require nothing less than a victory to pip Oriental who are currently second on 24 points.

Binay opened the scoring for Tilak Memorial in the 23rd minute before Geshan restored parity for the Blues in the 28th minute.

However, their joy lasted only a minute as Abhilesh latched onto a through ball to fire home Tilak Memorial’s second. Abhilesh then made it 3-1 with a close range effort in the 45th minute.

Hitting back

Southern Blues, however, reduced the margin through Jagadeesh in the 48th minute. But, Tilak Memorial soon hit back to restore their lead, Akhilesh slotting home in the 58th and 65th minutes.

Geshan then struck a consolation goal for Southern Blues in the 71st minute.

In the other match of the day, Government Press beat Royals 4-0.

Results: Tilak Memorial: 5 (Binay 23rd, Abhilesh 29th, 45th, Akhilesh 58th, 65th) bt Southern Blues: 3 (Geshan 28th, 71st, Jagadesh 48th); Government Press: 4 (Narendra 31st, Raju 37th, 57th, Raja own goal 45th) bt Royals FC: 0