Rlys witnessed exit of 5 ministers in 4 years

Rlys witnessed exit of 5 ministers in 4 years

Rlys witnessed exit of 5 ministers in 4 years

With the resignation of C P Joshi on Sunday, the Railways ministry has witnessed the exit of five ministers in four years.

Joshi was apparently made to leave the ministry to play a crucial role in Rajasthan Assembly election scheduled this year.

However, earlier in the same situation, Mamata Banerjee did not resign from her post in 2011 to lead her party in West Bengal assembly elections. She resigned just one day before she was sworn in West Bengal Chief Minister on May 20, 2011.

She was succeeded by high profile Dinesh Trivedi. He remained there for over 8 months and prepared a blue print of modernisation in railways. He also took a decision to increase passenger fare and tried to link it with the changing prices of fuel. An angry Mamata dumped her and he had to leave even before the Railway Budget presented by him was passed.

Mukul Roy succeeded Trivedi to roll back increase in passenger fare. He, like her mentor Mamata Banerjee, remained busy in Kolkata. He stayed for six months and had to leave the ministry following Trinamool Congress exit from the UPA on the issue of FDI in retail.

Joshi was given additional charge for few weeks. He took some decisions in a direction initiated by Trivedi. He went ahead with the liberalisation programme suggested by the Planning Commission headed by Montek Singh Ahluwalia. However, he too had to leave before he could settle down.

He was succeeded by Pawan Kumar Bansal. Bansal increased passenger fare and promised high quality passenger amenities. However, bribery scam involving appointment of railway board member Mahesh Kumar costs him his post.

Joshi was again brought in. Joshi stayed away from routine decisions for few days.  A railway ministry which was embroiled in scam and remained uncomfortable under the investigations of CBI, had to have some decision-maker. Joshi started his job and before he could settle he was again made to leave.

Names which have been taking rounds are of Rural Development Minister Jairam Ramesh, Labour Minister Mallikarjun Kharge and Health Minister Gulajm Nabi Azad.