Mumbai meet Royals in CLT20 opening tie

The winners of IPL 6, Mumbai Indians, will take on Rajasthan Royals, who finished third in the cash-rich tournament, in the inaugural group stage match of the Champions League Twenty20 to be played on September 21 at the Sawai Man Singh Stadium in Jaipur.

The CLT20 final will be played on October 6 at the Ferozeshah Kotla Ground here, which hosted the first Qualifier and the Eliminator of IPL 6.

The Kotla will also host the second semifinal of the tournament on October 5. The first semifinal will be played at Jaipur on October 4.

The opening group stage encounter will be followed by a double-header at Ranchi’s JSCA International Stadium Complex, on September 22.

Brisbane Heat, the winner of Australia’s KFC T20 Big Bash League, will play Trinidad and Tobago, the domestic T20 Champion of the West Indies, in the first game.

It will be followed by a duel between IPL 2013 runners-up, Chennai Super Kings and the Titans, South Africa’s domestic T20 runners-up side.

Apart from Delhi, Jaipur and Ranchi, the CLT20 matches will also be played at the Sardar Patel Gujarat Stadium, Motera (Ahmedabad) and the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad.

The qualifying stage of the tournament will be played from September 17 to September 20 at Hyderabad.

A total of 29 matches will be played in the USD 6 million tournament.

The CLT20 2013 Qualifier will feature four teams: Q1 - Otago Volts (New Zealand’s HRV Cup champions), Q2 – Sunrisers Hyderabad (Fourth-ranked team in the Pepsi IPL 2013), Q3 – The winner of Sri Lanka’s domestic T20 competition, and Q4 - Faisalabad Wolves (Pakistan’s domestic T20 Champions).

Group Stage: Group A: Mumbai Indians (India), Highveld Lions (South Africa), Perth Scorchers (Australia), Rajasthan Royals (India), a team from the Qualifiers.
Group B: Chennai Super Kings (India), Titans (South Africa), Brisbane Heat (Australia), Trinidad & Tobago (West Indies), a team from the Qualifiers.
Qualifiers: Q1 - Otago Volts (New Zealand); Q2 - Sunrisers Hyderabad (India); Q3 – SLC1 (Sri Lanka); Q4 - Faisalabad Wolves (Pakistan).

Comments (+)