Bijapur Sainik school turns 50

The Sainik School Bijapur is celebrating its Golden Jubilee this year. The sainik schools are a system of schools in India established and managed by the Sainik School Society. They were conceived in 1961 by V K Krishna Menon, the then defence minister of India, to rectify the regional and class imbalance amongst officers of the Indian military and to prepare students for the National Defence Academy, Khadakwasla, Pune and the Indian Naval Academy.

Today, there are 24 such schools in India. Of them, two are in Karnataka — one at Bijapur and the other at Kodagu. The inspiration for sainik schools came from the Rashriya Indian Military College which has given many defence chiefs. So far, 24 sainik schools in India have contributed about 7,000 officers to the defence service.

There are three bodies to govern the activities of these schools. The defence minister is the chairman of the first body called Board of Governors. The second body is called Executive Committee chaired by the defence secretary and the third body is the Local Board of Administration for each school.

The Bijapur Sainik School was the 13th school to be set up in the chain of sainik schools. It started functioning on September 16, 1963, when the foundation stone was laid by late Mrs Indira Gandhi. Now the school is located in a sprawling campus of 406 acres on Athani Road in Bijapur.

The school which started with 63 cadets is associated with many famous personalities. Captain G R Gopinath, who revolutionised the civil aviation sector in India with his low cost airline, is one among the first batch of its students. Now, the school boasts of 650 cadets. The slogan of the school is Ajeet hain Abheet hain which means we are not defeated and we are not discouraged.

Many cadets of the school are in high positions, making the school’s society proud. About 860 students have joined the officer cadre in the Indian armed forces. Besides them, several others are serving in the IAS, the IPS, the KAS, and other allied services.
Three alumni have reached the rank of Major General and its equivalent while two are secretaries to the government of Karnataka. And 18 have laid down their lives for the motherland and attained martyrdom. Other alumni have also been making immense contribution in the field of medicine, engineering, business and as entrepreneurs.

The year 2013 is special for the Sainik School, Bijapur as it turns 50 this year. From September last year, the school has been celebrating its Golden Jubilee with various activities which will culminate in September this year.

Incidentally, the 79th Akhila Bharata Kannada Sahitya Sammelana was held in February on the school’s campus. President Pranab Mukherjee is set to attend the valedictory function.

The governor, chief minister and other dignitaries will grace the function as well.

Comments (+)