Political speculations about Congress fortunes rife

With Lok Sabha bypolls round the corner, politics has become a hot topic among the people here.

Mandya constituency which was once a stronghold of the Congress had lost its ground here over the last few years. But now that Congress is holding the reigns of power again, there are speculations galore whether or not the party will be successful in weaving its magic to win the seat in the forthcoming Lok Sabha bypolls.

Mandya Lok Sabha constituency has so far witnessed election 17 times including two bypolls. While Congress was successful in winning 12 elections out of 17, PSP (Praja Socialist Party) and Janata Party have won one time each, while JD(S) has gained victory thrice.

M K Shivananjappa has contested and won from the Congress all four times between 1952 and 1967. After his demise in 1968, S M Krishna, who contested the bypolls from PSP and won the polls, while Congress tasted its first defeat.

Later, former chief minister Krishna contested from Congress and won the polls in 1971. K Chikkalingaiah won in 1972 and 1977.

In the polls held in 1984 K V Shankaregowda who contested from Janata party defeated Krishna.

G Madegowda, who was elected successfully for six times, won the seat in 1989. He was re-elected in 1991, but lost against former speaker Krishna in 1996.

Actor M H Ambareesh contested from JD(S) in 1998 and won the polls. Later, he contested from Congress in 1999 and 2004 and retained the seat.

In 2008, N Chaluvarayaswamy who contested from JD(S) defeated Ambareesh.
Also, the people’s verdict here is sometimes unpredictable. For, G Madegowda known as the ‘Solillada saradara’, K R Pet Krishna, Ambareesh, former chief minister S M Krishna, have all tasted defeat.

Out of eight Assembly consistencies coming under parliamentary constituency, five are represented by JD(S) (Maddur, Nagamangala, Srirangapatna, K R Pet and K R Nagar of Mysore district).

While Congress legislators represent Mandya and Malavalli constituencies, Melkote constituency is represented by Sarvodaya Karnataka Party.

Comments (+)