Manpreet to lead Junior Indian team

Manpreet to lead Junior Indian team

Midfielder Manpreet Singh will lead an 18-member Junior men’s hockey team for the third Sultan of Johar Cup at Johar Bahru, Malaysia, from September 22-29.

There will be many faces from the squad that won silver at the Asia Cup in Malaysia. Manpreet, Mandeep Singh, Amit Rohidas, Kothajit Singh and Malak singh were all part of a young squad that all but secured India’s berth for the World Cup.

The six nation tournament will feature Argentina, England, India, Korea, Malaysia and Pakistan. India finished as runners-up in the last edition of the tournament played in 2012.

The team will have their preparatory camp at Major Dhyanchand National Stadium from September 7-17.

Squad: Goalkeepers: Harjot Singh, Sushant Tirkey.

Defenders: Amit Rohidas, Jarmanpreet Singh, Kothajit Singh, Surender Kumar, Sukhmanjit Singh, Pardeep Mor.

Midfielders: Manpreet Singh (captain), Prabhdeep Singh, Harjit Singh, Satbir Singh, Imran Khan.

Forwards: Mandeep Singh, Amon Mirash Tirkey, Mohammad Amir Khan, Talwinder Singh, Affan Yousef (vice-captain).

Standbys: Jagdeep Dayal (goalkeeper), Dipsan Tirkey (defender), Gurmail Singh (defender), Stanli Minz (midfielder), Lalit Upadhayay (midfielder), SK Uthappa (midfielder), PL Thimmanna (forward), Ramandeep Singh (forward), Malak Singh (forward).