Combined XI emerge champions

Combined XI emerge champions

Combined XI emerge champions

Pratheek Jain scalped five wickets to help Combined XI pip Mofussil XI for title by virtue of their first innings lead in the KSCA inter-zonal under-19 tournament here at Alur (1) ground on Thursday.

After posting a modest 249 al out on the opening day, Combined XI reduced Mofussil XI to 54/3 at close of play.

Mofussil XI threatened overhaul Combined’s total with Sounak Biwas (58 n.o.) and G Pavan (49) coming up with useful knocks. But their innings eventually folded up at 180 in 71.1 overs.

Pratheek (5/44) and Raj Gala (3/33) were the chief architects of Combined XI’s triumph.
In the 3-4th place play-off match, Secretary’s XI grabbed the innings lead to edge out President’s XI. President’s XI had put up a moderate 165 in their first innings. In their first stint with the bat on day one, Secretary’s XI reached 121 for six. Spurred by Naveen’s 56, Secretary’s XI overhauled President XI’s total on day two before being bowled out for 214 in 60 overs.

Brief scores: Final: Combined XI: 249 all out in 74.5 overs drew Mofussil XI: 180 all out in 71.1 overs (Sounak Biwas 58 n.o., G Pavan 49; Pratheek Jain 5-44, Raj Gala 3-33).
3-4th place play-off: President’s XI: 165 all out in 63.5 overs drew Secretary’s XI: 214 all out in 60 overs (Naveen 56, Nithin Naidu 29; Latif 5-39, Rai Kiran 2-38, Kartikeyan RS 2-50).

5-6th place play-off: Bangalore Zone: 164/6 in 73 overs lt to Bangalore City XI. Bangalore City XI won via toss as the match did not start due to overnight rain.

7-8th place play-off: Combined Moffusil XI: 226 all out 88.4 overs (Vishnu P 97 n.o.; Arjun P 4-61, Prateek Patil 2-50, Abhyudaya 2-20, Sharath KM 2-46) bt Zone XI: 125/6 in 70.5 overs (C Deekshith 50 n.o., Kamal Raj 26; Karan MC 3-32). Zone XI won via toss as the match was called off due to rain.