Creation of new state multi-step process

Creation of new  state multi-step process

After the decision of the Union Cabinet on bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, the creation of Telangana would go through a multi-step process which begins with the constitution of a Group of Ministers to examine various contentious issues on sharing of resources.

Defence Minister A K Antony is expected to chair the Group of Ministers, which would go into issues like sharing of revenue, water resources, electricity, assets and liabilities – issues that would be hotly contested by both the sides.

Already strong views have been expressed over the status of Hyderabad with a section of leaders from Seemandhra demanding that the IT hub should be made a Union Territory. It remains to be seen how the Congress tackles the heartburns in the Seemandhra region where it has already conceded ground to YS Jaganmohan Reddy’s YSR Congress, whose call for United Andhra has struck a chord with the people of the region.

After Thursday’s decision, at least three members of Parliament – Sabbam Hari, A Venkatrami Reddy and Vundavalli Aruna Kumar – have announced their resignation from the primary membership of the Congress. Another MP, SPY Reddy had already resigned and joined YSR Congress.

At the meeting of the Union Cabinet on Thursday, HRD Minister M M Pallam Raju and Textiles Minister K S Rao are understood to have strongly opposed the proposal to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh.

Science and Technology Minister S Jaipal Reddy, who hails from Telangana, and Raju are learnt to have entered into an argument on the issue at the Cabinet meeting. “This is very undemocratic way to resolve a problem. The people of Andhra Pradesh will not accept this decision,” SPY Reddy, who represents Nandyal constituency in the Lok Sabha, told Deccan Herald.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)