YSRC legislators held in H'bad

The police arrested several YSR Congress Party legislators here on Friday for staging a dharna in front of Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy’s office at the state secretariat, and moved them to the Saifabad police station.

They were protesting after their talks with the chief minister failed as he insisted on defeating the Telangana Bill only after the President sent it for the opinion of the Andhra Pradesh Assembly.

Among the arrested MLAs are Shobhanagi Reddy, Srikanth Reddy, Amarnatha Reddy, Gottipati Ravi Kumar, Katasani Rambhupal Reddy, Dwarampudi Chandrasekhar Reddy, Sucharitha, Bhumana Karunakar Reddy, Dharmana Krishna Das and Golla Baburao.

The original plan of YSRCP MLAs had been to lay siege to the chief minister's camp office at Begumpet. However, when Reddy went to the secretariat, they changed the plan and took an appointment to meet him there.

The party has been demanding that the Kiran Kumar Reddy government convene a special session of the Assembly and pass a resolution in favour a unified Andhra Pradesh even before the draft bill is sent to the state legislature for its opinion.

However, during the meeting on Friday, Reddy said that there was no need to convene the session, and that the Telangana Bill could be defeated whenever it was brought before the Assembly.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)