Manpreet to lead hockey squad

Hockey India (HI) on Monday announced a young team for the third Asian Champions Trophy to be held at Kakamigahara, Japan from November 2 to 10.

HI selectors BP Govinda, RP Singh, Arjun Halappa, director of high performance Roelant Oltmans, foreign coach of junior team Gregg Clark and juniors’ coach Baljeet Singh Saini along with government observer Harbinder Singh selected 18 players with six standbys during the trials conducted at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium here from October 9 to 10.

The team will be captained by midfielder Manpreet Singh while midfielder Kothajit Singh will be vice-captain.

“With the Indian junior team preparing for the forthcoming World Cup to be held in New Delhi, the Asian Champions Trophy gives us an opportunity to allow our junior players to showcase their skills and gain experience in the international environment. Out of the 18 selected, 13 were part of the Indian junior team that won the recently concluded third Sultan of Johor Cup in Malaysia” HI secretary-general Narinder Batra said.

Goalkeepers: Sushant Tirkey, Harjot Singh. Defenders: Gurjinder Singh, Amit Rohidas, Surender Kumar, Sukhmanjit Singh, Pardeep Mor. Midfielders: Prabhdeep Singh, Manpreet Singh (captain), Satbir Singh, Harjeet Singh, Imran Khan, Kothajit Singh (vice-captain). Forwards: Malak Singh, Mandeep Singh, Talwinder Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh. Standbys: Jagdeep Dayal (goalkeeper), Gagandeep Singh (defender), Jarmanpreet Singh (defender), Lalit Upadhyay (midfielder), Affan Yousuf (forward), Amon Mirash Tirkey (forward).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)