Flooring the judges

Flooring the judges


Horlicks Wiz Kids 2009, one of the biggest inter-school fiestas, which was held in the City recently, witnessed the participation of school children from over 30 schools and three countries — India, Nepal and Sri Lanka. The event comprised judges from various fields.

Acclaimed Bollywood actors Aftab Shivdasani, Aamna Sharif and Javed Jaffery, well-known theatre artist Chippy Ganjee, INRC driver Vikram Mathias, industrialist and corporate trainer Dilip Patel and actress/singer Andrea Jeremiah were a part of the jury.

The competition was conducted over five days in different city schools, where a host of activities that were designed to assess their social and mental ability were held. The grand finale was held on November 14 at Ambedkar Bhavan.

It comprised of project presentations, where the students presented a study that they had done on a wide variety of topics like AIDS awareness, working with special children and the like. There were also other events like interviews, group discussions, games, psychometric tests and other evaluation methods to judge their character and competence.

There were three rounds on the final day. In round one, the 68 city finalists introduced themselves and spoke a little about their city and its cultural background. 12 students were then chosen on the basis of their cumulative score of the previous four days as well as the introduction round. They were asked to exhibit their talent in round two. In the
final round, the judges posed questions to these semi-finalists to select the
final four winners. Each participant was asked a question based on his or her area of study and the children floored the judges with their answers.

During the time the judges were finalising the winners, a lucky draw was held. All the students present in the hall were asked to write their names on a coupon and put them into a box. Aftab and Aamna picked the names of the winners. Two students won television sets and another student won a Play Station.

Aditi Sheoran from Chandigarh, Ganesh Venkataraman from Chennai, Anvita from Pune and Parth Chhetri from Nepal were declared the overall winners. They will soon be flying to Spain and Portugal where they will interact with reputed NGOs.