Jagan not ready to join hands with Cong-TDP on united AP

Last Updated 21 December 2013, 13:01 IST

Efforts to forge a Political Joint Action Committee (PJAC) to fight for a united Andhra Pradesh came to a naught today as the YSR Congress was reportedly disinclined to join forces with the Congress and the Telugu Desam Party (TDP).

The AP Non-Gazetted Officers' Association took the initiative to form the PJAC, but got a cold response from the YSRC.

In fact, the YSRC skipped an all-party meeting organised by the NGOs Association here today, pouring cold water on the plans to form the PJAC, sources said.

"The YSRC is not ready to join the PJAC as it feels the Congress and the TDP are not sincere about the united AP cause. The YSRC feels the Congress is responsible for the division of the state, while the TDP, too, is not committed for united AP. Hence, the YSRC decided to stay away from the proposed PJAC," the sources said.

The YSRC was also said to be sore that it was not involved in the united AP fight in the initial stages.

On the other hand, the AP NGOs Association itself is embroiled in factional fights with one section seeking the ouster of current president P Ashok Babu, who has been leading the united AP struggle for the past six months.

The Association is headed for a crucial internal election early next month, where Ashok Babu may be replaced as president as many of the district units rebelled against him.
The Association is blaming a political party for causing a split in the employees' body in the aftermath of the two-month long strike for a united state in August-September.

Meanwhile, parties that attended the meeting organised by the Association, today decided to unitedly oppose the draft AP Reorganisation Bill-2013 when it comes up for debate in the state Assembly next month.

"All parties should unitedly oppose the draft Bill," TDP MLA Payyavula Keshav said.
Secondary Education Minister S Sailajanath echoed this and said political parties should set aside their individual agendas at this crucial time.

TDP MPs Y S Chowdary, K Narayana Rao, MLAs Keshav, K E Prabhakar, Congress MP Sabbam Hari, Sailajanath, CPM leaders V Veeraiah, Y Venkateswara Rao and Lok Satta Party leader K Srinivasa Rao attended the all-party meeting.

(Published 21 December 2013, 13:00 IST)

Follow us on