'Seat trouble' at oath ceremony

'Seat trouble' at  oath ceremony

Transport Minister Ramalinga Reddy, senior officers such as Director General and Inspector General of Police Lalrokhuma Pachau, and Congress MLAs were forced to witness the swearing-in ceremony standing as all seats at Banquet Hall of Raj Bhavan were occupied.

The oath-taking ceremonies are normally organised at the spacious Glass House of Raj Bhavan. But this time, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is learnt to have directed to keep the ceremony a low-key affair. Hence, it was organised at Banquet hall, which is quite small.
Even the family members of D K Shivakumar had difficulty in finding seats.

They were given seats after Shivakumar himself intervened and directed the officials to make arrangements. Only  party leaders, senior officials and the media were allowed to attend.
Of the 29 ministers, only about a dozen attended the event. None of the leaders from the BJP and the JD(S) participated in the event.

Though the officials had barred entry to general public to attend the oath-taking ceremony, hundreds of supporters of Shivakumar and Roshan Baig had gathered in front of Raj Bhavan.
They celebrated the occasion by raising slogans and bursted crackers. This led to disruption of traffic flow on the busy Raj Bhavan Road for nearly two hours.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0