Prathiba, Surya claim singles titles

Fourth­-seeded Surya Elangovan and fifth-seeded Prathiba Prasad Narayan emerged champions in the boys’ and girls’ singles respectively in the KTPPA-AITA Under-14 Championship Series tennnis tournament at the TAMS courts here on Tuesday.

 Elangovan overpowered top seed Pralok Ikkurthy in the boys’ final 7-6 (4), 6-4. Later Elangovan also completed a fine double, winning the boys’ doubles title partnering Harshith Selvaraj. They beat Boopathy S and Aditya Rao 5-3, 5-3. 

Elangovan, a trainee of former Davis Cupper Prahlad Srinath got out of some tight spots using his strong serve and forehand against Pralok. The first set was a closely contested affair till the tie-break, and then Elangovan came up with a string of winners on both flanks to take the set. 

In the second set, Pralok, opened strongly and ran up a 4-1 lead and was set to level the match. But Elangovan fought back to wrest back the initiative and won five games in a row  to wrap up the tie.

Results: Boys: singles: Final: Surya Elangovan bt Pralok IKkurthy 7-6 (4), 6-4; Semifinals: Pralok Ikkurthy bt Sandesh K 6-1, 6-2; Surya Elangovan bt Harshith Selvaraj  6-7 (6), 6-4, 6-1. Doubles: (Final): Surya Elangovan/Harshit Selvaraj bt Boopathy S/Aditya Rao 5-3, 5-3. Girls: singles (final): Prathiba Prasad Narayan bt Prarthana Prabhakar 6-4, 6-3; Semifinals: Prarthana Prabhakr bt Chelsea Stephen 6-3, 6-2; Prathiba Prasad Narayan bt Aadhya Chala 6-0, 7-5. Doubles: Prarthana Prabhakar/Aadhya Chala bt Prathiba/Pragathi 4-1, 5-3.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0