Kapil receives top honour

Kapil receives top honour

Former India captain Kapil Dev was honoured with the CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award by the BCCI at its seventh annual awards ceremony here on Saturday.

Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was the recipient of the Polly Umrigar Award for being the best international cricketer of the country in the last season. 

Ashwin, in the 2012-13 season, claimed 43 wickets, inclusive of four 5WI and one 10WM, and scored 263 runs, inclusive of two 50’s from 8 Tests. He also grabbed 24 ODI wickets in 18 matches and three wickets in four T20 Internationals.  

The Polly Umrigar Award comprises a trophy and a cheque for Rs 5 lakh and the previous award winners are – Sachin Tendulkar (2006-07 and 2009-10), Virender Sehwag (2007-08), Gautam Gambhir (2008-09), Rahul Dravid (2010-11) and Virat Kohli (2011-12).Legendary all rounder and 1983 World Cup-winning captain Kapil became the 21st Indian cricketer to receive the CK Nayudu Award.

“When we started playing, it was only for passion as we didn’t think about any Awards. I would like to thank all the captains under whom I have played. Bishan Bedi, Sunil (Gavaskar), Venkat (S Venkataragahavan), Gundappa Viswanath. I would like to thank my family who allowed me to play the game for a long time. I believe all of us including me should feel proud for making the game popular in the country,” Kapil said after accepting the Award.

One of the greatest all-rounders of all time, Kapil was the first player to complete the ‘double’ of 5,000 runs and 400 wickets in Tests. 

The most poignant moment of the short award function was when Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Kapil were caught in the same frame posing with the Prudential Cup and the ICC World Cup Trophy. Dhoni then handed the ICC World Cup Trophy to Kapil while the veteran handed the Prudential Cup to Dhoni.

Mumbai's Abhishek Nayar received the Lala Amarnath Award, for being the best all-rounder in the 2012-13 edition of the Ranji Trophy. 

The function was attended by members of the Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led squad that is set to depart for New Zealand on Sunday morning.

Stalwarts honoured

A highlight of the function was the felicitation of three former stalwarts - RG (Bapu) Nadkarni, Farokh Engineer and the late Eknath Solkar - for their contribution to Indian cricket. 

The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) collected the trophy for the Best Overall Performance in the 2012-13 season. The various teams representing the MCA won the Ranji Trophy, the Under-25 CK Nayudu Trophy, the Under-16 Vijay Merchant Trophy, the Women’s Under-19 Inter-State tournament, and finished runners-up in the Under-19 Cooch Behar Trophy.

Rohit Sharma, who is in India’s ODI as well as Test squad, received the Dilip Sardesai Award, for being India’s best cricketer in the recent home Test series against the West Indies.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0