KPCC panel recommends Nilekani for B'lore South

Kin of Cong leaders dominate probable candidates' list for 16 LS seats

KPCC panel recommends Nilekani for B'lore South

The State Congress on Monday decided to recommend senior Cabinet minister Prakash Hukkeri, four sitting MLAs and children and relatives of senior leaders as candidates for the coming Lok Sabha elections to the party high command. 

Unique Identity Authority of India (UIDAI) chairman Nandan Nilekani too has been recommended for Bangalore South constituency.

The KPCC election committee that shortlisted names of probable candidates to 16 different parliamentary constituencies has also recommended the name of businessman U B Venkatesh for Bangalore South. However, the party high command is most likely to pick Nilekani as the candidate, sources said.

A list of four names has been prepared for Bangalore North and Bangalore Central seats. They are Ramesh G Gowda (relative of S M Krishna), G C Chandrashekar, B L Shankar, Rajiv Gowda (Bangalore North), Jaffer Sharief, H T Sangliana, J Alexander and Rizwan Arshad. The State has 28 parliamentary constituencies.

The KPCC panel, comprising senior party leaders including KPCC president G Parameshwara, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and union ministers from the State, decided to recommend that all nine sitting MPs be given tickets. It has recommended names of Janardhana Poojary, N Y Hanumanthappa and S S Mallikarjun for Dakshina Kannada, Bellary and Davanagere seats respectively, sources said.

The Committee has passed a resolution empowering the party high command to take any decision on candidates’ selection. In other words, the high command can directly select any candidate overlooking the recommendation of the KPCC panel. Names recommended by the panel will be submitted before the AICC screening committee headed by Vayalar Ravi. Members of the KPCC panel were of the view that Prakash Hukkeri should contest from Chikkodi seat, instead of his son Ganesh Hukkeri. 

Names of both father and son have been included in the list. The name of former minister A B Patil has also been recommended for the seat. In the absence of a strong candidate for Belgaum seat, the panel decided to include MLA Ramesh Jharkiholi in the list of names. Lakshmi Hebbalkar and Dr Sadhunavar, KLE Society director, are other names recommended.

For Tumkur, Muddahanume Gowda, MLA Shadakshari and Santosh Jayachandra, son of minister T B Jayachandra have been recommended. However, sources said the party is said to be open to giving ticket to sitting MP G S Basavaraj if he joins the Congress.  

For Karwar seat, names of B K Hariprasad, Prashant Deshpande, Nivedit Alva and Bheemanna Nayak have been recommended. While Prashanat Deshpande is the son of senior minister R V Deshpande, Nivedit Alva is the son of Rajasthan Governor Margaret Alva.

Names of G R Patil, I G Sanadi and Saleem Ahmed (Haveri), Ajaykumar Sarnaik, Dr Devaraj Patil Dalwai, Vishwanath (Bagalkot), Prakash Rathod, R B Thimmapur, Kantanayak, Allam Veerabhadrappa, Venkatrao Gorpade, Basavaraj Itnal, Mallikarjuna Nagappa (Koppal), H Hanumanthappa, Dr S Thippeswamy, Chandrappa, Ramappa (Chitradurga), Manjunath Kunnur, Vinay Kulkarni, MLA, Rohit Nayakar, A M Hindasgeri (Dharwad), H M Anand, Rajeshwari (Hassan), Kumar Bangarappa, Manjunath Bhandari, H S Sundaresh and Chandrashekar (Shimoga) have also been recommended, it is said. 

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0