Congress list likely today

Congress list likely today

The Congress is likely is announce its candidates for majority of the parliamentary constituencies of Karnataka on Friday, when the AICC election committee headed by party chief  Sonia Gandhi will meet in Delhi.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and KPCC chief G Parameshwara, who are the committee members, are scheduled to leave for Delhi on Friday morning. Barring some of the constituencies, AICC screening committee for Karnataka headed by Vayalar Ravi, has already shortlisted names for majority of the constituencies.

The screening committee has cleared the names of all nine sitting MPs – N Dharam Singh, Mallikharjun Kharge, Veerappa Moily, K H Muniyappa, H Vishwanath, Druvanarayana, Ramya, D K Suresh and Jayaprakash Hegde. It has also said to have cleared the names of UIDAI chairman Nandan Nilekani for Bangalore South, S S Mallikharjun for Davangere and N Y Hanumanthappa for Bellary.

The party is conducting primaries (internal polling) for electing the candidates for Bangalore North and Mangalore constituencies. While polling for Mangalore is scheduled on March 9, Bangalore North polling is scheduled on March 13. 

The party is seriously considering fielding at least three ministers – H Anjaneya (Chitradurga), Prakash Hukkeri (Chikkodi) and Krishna Byre Gowda (Bangalore North). 

With both, Assembly Speaker Kagodu Thimmappa and Primary and Secondary Education Minister Kimmane Ratnakara, refusing to contest from Shimoga, the party is left with very limited choice.

If the JD(S) decides to field anybody from late S Bangarappa family, then the Congress would not field Kumar Bangarappa. Instead, it would pick Manjunath Bandari. Similarly, Jaffar Sharief is lobbying to get the ticket for Bangalore Central.