CPM creates separate unit for Telangana

CPM creates separate unit for Telangana

The CPM is the only party to quickly transform itself in line with the changed political equation  in the state after Parliament approved creation of Telangana.

The CPM, which opposed the bifurcation and stood for Samaikyandhra, was the first political party to form two separate committees for Telangana and Seemandhra after a marathon state committee meeting on Saturday. The CPM, which formed an alliance with the TDP in 2009, had won only one Assembly seat as against the CPI’s four.

While the TDP and the Congress, the major political players in the state, were still pondering over the formation of separate committees, the CPM state secretary Raghuvulu announced that Tammineni Veerabhadram, a former MP, would be the secretary of the Telangana unit.

Former MP P Madhu will be the secretary for Seemandhra. Raghuvulu, however, refuted reports of an alliance with Jaganmohan Reddy’s YSRC. “We just formed two committees and it is the responsibility of these two committees to go ahead with poll alliances for both parliamentary and Assembly elections.”

For the ongoing municipal and ZPTC polls, local district committees would decide on electoral alliances.