Spl camps today to enroll in voters' list

Spl camps today to enroll in voters' list

All those whose names are not registered or removed from electoral list will have a chance to enroll themselves as voters ahead of Lok Sabha polls at special camps organised by district administration, at all the polling booths, on March 9, said Deputy Commissioner A B Ibrahim.

Addressing a press meet here on Saturday, he said that the camps will be held at 1766 polling booths in the district where people can verify their names in the list. “If a person’s name is not registered or removed from the electoral rolls, he/she will be given a chance to fill a form and enroll as voters ahead of the election. The booth-level officials will receive applications (form number 6) from people. The form will be issued at the booths. No application for mass inclusion of names will be accepted. It is for individuals,” he said.

The DC said that citizens having their names on the electoral rolls will be allowed to visit polling stations and exercise their voting rights. “EPIC is merely an identity card and it does not guarantee a person to vote. The voters must have their names on the electoral rolls,” he added.

The drive to include the names in voters list will continue till March 16.


As on January 31, the total number of voters in the district is 15,30,071, of which, 7,72188 are women and 7,57,883 are men. The number of youth enrolled in the voters list is less. Hence, an awareness will be created on the need for enrolling the names.

The number of voters in each constituencies are as follows: Belthangady (males -99,502, females—96,266), Moodbidri (males—84,937, females— 91,944), Mangalore North (males—1,02,865, females—1,07,108), Mangalore South (males—1,00,896, females—1,10,028), Mangalore (males—84,446, females—86,859), Bantwal (males—99,795, females - 99,453), Puttur (males—92,848, females—90,128), Sullia (males—92,594, females—90,402).

Out of total polling booths, 442 are sensitive, 218 hyper sensitive and 1,106 are general.

Code of conduct

The DC said that the pamhplets, posters, banners of the political parties and candidates should clearly mention publishers names and address and number of copies.

Banners, buntings, boards and posters can not be displayed in public places, on electric or telephone posts and walls of government establishments. Political parties and candidates will be asked to remove such election-related materials at their cost if these have been already put up, the DC added.

To implement the model code of conduct, 24 sectoral magistrates, 24 flying squads, 24 video surveillance team, eight video viewing team, 24 static surveillance team and 175 sector officers have been formed.

Deposit arms

Licenced weapon holders have to deposit the same in the jurisdictional police stations according to Arms Act. It is compulsory for the weapon holders to surrender their arms till the model code of conduct is in place. The weapons should be deposited before March 19. There are around 3,000 revolvers and 11,000 other high range weapons in the districts.

Control rooms

Deputy Commissioner said that control rooms have been opened at DC office, taluk office, AC’s office.

The control room numbers are 1077 (DC’s office, email id: deo.dkannada@gmail.com and dc.mnglr@gmail.com), AC office, Mangalore (0824-2220569, ac.mlore@gmail.com), AC office, Puttur (08251-230357, acputtur@gmail.com), Mangalore taluk office (0824-2220596, talukmangalore@gmail.com), Mangalore City Corporation (0824-2220550, commissioner.mcc@gmail.com), Bantwal taluk offce (08255-232120, taluk.bnt@gmail.com), Belthangady taluk offce (08256-233123, talukofficebelthangady@gmail.com), Taluk office, Puttur (08251-232799, tahsildar_puttur@yahoo.com), Taluk office, Sullia (08257-231231, talukofficesullia@yahoo.com), special tahsildar office, Moodbidri (08258-238100, tahsildarmoodbidri@gmail.com).

Media Certification and Monitoring Committee (MCMC) has been formed in Dakshina Kannada district as per the guidelines of the Election Commission and is all set to check paid news.

The formed district-level committee consists of District Electoral Officer (deputy commissioner), Returning Officers of the constituency, Dr Vasanth Kumar Perla (as a representative of Information & Broadcasting Ministry), a senior journalist and the District Information Officer (member secretary). Any violation in the model code of conduct by dailies and electronic media can be brought to the notice of the committee.

The campaigns in social media will also be monitored, said Zilla Panchayat Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Tulasi Maddineni.

Any complaints related to election can be lodged online in the website http://dk.nic.in