Poojary wins M'lore Cong LS primary

Poojary wins M'lore Cong LS primary

Veteran Cong leader secures 478 votes, while U K Monu managed to get only 62 votess

Poojary wins M'lore Cong LS primary

The Congress primary election held for Mangalore Lok Sabha constituency, which is one of the two constituencies selected in the State for primaries, was peaceful and disciplined. With the rule-bound Congress Lok Sabha election officers, strictly monitoring the procedure, there was no scope for glitches or confusions.

The voters registration process that began at 9 am, at Rosario School premises, was concluded by 11 am, following which all the voters were made to assemble in the Rosario hall, where a formal programme was held. After AICC General Secretary in-charge of Karnataka Shantharam Naik addressed the gathering highlighting the importance of primary election, both the candidates, B Janardhan Poojary and U Kanachaur Monu were given 10 (7+3) minutes time to address the voters.

Addressing the gathering, Janardhan Poojary did not make a direct request to the voters to vote for him, but he said “today, you should decide and vote for the candidate who is honest, of good character, has the power to defeat communal forces and who has the ability to speak in the parliament.”

He also took a dig at the communal forces and sought the party workers to work unitedly to fight parliament election against the communal forces, irrespective of who wins the election. “We should send a message of unity,” he said. Poojary repeatedly asked the members not to clap or cheer for both the candidates as it was a ‘family election.’

His opponent, U Kanachur Monu while reading out the speech, at one point turned emotional and shed tears. “Upon filing my nomination for the primaries, I have suffered a lot in last one week. Congress members have pricked me with their words and they also prevented me from entering into the block Congress offices,” he said. 

The polling began at around 11.30 am, where arrangements were made for the voters from different assembly constituencies to vote in separate polling booth meant for each assembly constituency. In the preferential visiting system, each voter was given the liberty to make first and second preference for the candidate. Polling winded up in an hour and result announced by 1.30 pm.

Of the 598 eligible Congress voters, as many as 547 voters cast their votes. Of the 547 votes, seven were invalid. Victory seemed easy for Poojary who polled 478 votes, while U K Monu had to satisfy with 62 votes.

Following his victory, Poojary said, “neither I won this election nor he (Monu) has lost. It is a victory of the Congress.” Kanachur Monu said that he would support Poojary’s candidature in the parliament election and ensure that Poojary wins against the BJP candidate.

The election team lead by Lok Sabha Returning Officers Preniel Nair and Pramod Kumar managed the election procedure.