LS polls: BJP workers unhappy with Simha's candidature

LS polls: BJP workers unhappy with Simha's candidature

The State BJP core committee’s decision to field journalist Pratap Simha from Mysore-Kodagu Lok Sabha seat for the forthcoming parliamentary elections has triggered animosity among the party workers here.

The party workers who met in the city on Thursday, vent their anguish against the likely candidature of Simha, an outsider preferred over the local aspirants. The workers are of the opinion that it would prove costly to the party that has all chances of avenging the loss of previous polls where Congress wrested the seat.

Incumbent MLC and two time MP C H Vijayshankar, former MLC Prof K R Mallikarjunappa and sitting MLA from Virajpet Appachchu Ranjan are the ticket aspirants. Even the district core committee had recommended their names.

The party workers insisted that the party should have considered one among them for the contest, instead of Simha. It would portend a situation where the workers of the party will find it difficult to campaign for a new face.

President of BJP City unit and former MLA E Maruthirao Pawar and his rural counterpart M V Hemanth Kumar Gowda pacified the aggrieved workers of the party.

On the other hand, Vijayshankar has remained adamant, while Appachcu Ranjan is also against fielding Simha. Mallikarjunappa has hinted at quitting the party again saying that “his mind is diverted”. Mallikarjunappa had earlier followed B S Yeddyurappa into KJP and also unsuccessfully contested the Assembly polls from Chamarajanagar. He returned to the party along with his mentor Yeddyurappa recently.