Sharad Yadav to re-seek Madhepura seat

Sharad Yadav to re-seek Madhepura seat

Sharad Yadav to re-seek Madhepura seat

Senior Janata Dal(U) leader Sharad Yadav will seek re-election from Madhepura in Bihar, with the party nominating the seven-time Lok Sabha member to contest the upcoming elections from the seat, according to the second list of candidates released here by the JD(U) for the 32 Lok Sabha constituencies in Bihar on Sunday.

However, the party’s state unit reportedly wanted him to be fielded from Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s stronghold Nalanda, to avoid any set back in the polls, as the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) had fielded Pappu Yadav alias Rajesh Ranjan from Madhepura.  

Seeking to cash in on the appeal of filmstar in the polls, the party has fielded noted filmmaker Prakash Jha from the West Champaran seat.

The party re-nominated Ranjan Prasad Yadav from Patiputra to take on RJD chief Lalu Prasad’s daughter Misa Bharti, who is locked in a fight with her party’s rebel and BJP candidate Ramkripal Yadav.

Yadav recently quit the RJD and joined the BJP to contest from Patliputra after Lalu nominated his daughter from the seat. Sitting MPs Maheshwar Hazari, Dinesh Chandra Yadav, Arjun Rai, Ram Sunder Das were also re-nominated by the JD(U) from Samastipur, Khagaria, Sitamarhi and Hajipur, respectively.

Delhi JD(U) chief Sabir Ali will contest from Shivhar while former Bihar JD(U) chief Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan has been nominated from Munger.

The JD(U) fielded MLA Manoranjan Singh Dhumal, who faces several criminal cases, from Maharajganj, which is currently represented by RJD leader Prabhunath Singh, who had defeated senior JD(U) leader P K Shahi in a by-election in last June. Some of the new entrants were also given tickets, even as there was opposition to such a move in the party’s rank and file.

Rebel RJD leader Gulam Gaus, a sitting MLC who joined the JD(U) recently, has been pitted against senior RJD leader Abdul Bari Siddiqui and sitting BJP MP Hukumdeo Narayan Yadav from Madhuvani.

The JD(U) has entered into a pact with the CPI, agreeing to share two seats. There are 40 seats in Bihar. With the announcement of its candidates for 32 seats on Saturday, the JD(U) has now declared all its candidates for Bihar.