Some leaders fume over list

Some leaders fume over list

The much-awaited BJP candidate list for Uttar Pradesh on Saturday night triggered a revolt within the saffron party with many leaders, including a former state unit president, going public with their resentment. 

Former UP BJP president Surya Pratap Shahi, denied ticket to contest from his home district of Deoria, accused the BJP of causing “injustice”. The party has fielded former minister Kalraj Mishra from the seat.  Sources also said senior leader Lalji Tandon, the sitting MP from Lucknow, was also reportedly “very upset” that party president Rajnath Singh replaced him in Lucknow, though he chose not to go public with it. 

Shahi, however, did not mince words, saying: “Though it is the prerogative of the party to give the tickets, the party must keep in mind the sentiments of the workers at the ground level and the services to the party.” 

Though he denied reports that he was contemplating resigning from the party and contest from Deoria as an independent candidate, Shahi said he would consult with his supporters before deciding the next course of action. Shahi said: “I shall decide (the next course of action) after I speak to my people in Deoria.” His supporters in Deoria took to the streets and burnt the effigy of Rajnath Singh. 

Denial of re-nomination to Tandon in Lucknow has triggered resentment among his supporters. His supporters made it clear that they would stay away from campaigning.

Similar resentment prevails against the nomination of Harisakshi Maharaj from Unnao seat. “Sakhshi Maharaj will certainly lose,” said a state party office bearer.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)