17 candidates file 30 sets of nomination papers for DK

17 candidates file 30 sets of nomination papers for DK

Scrutiny today; Last date to withdraw nominations is March 29
Deputy Commissioner A B Ibrahim has said that 17 candidates have filed 30 nominations for Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency since the notification was issued on March 19.

Wednesday was the last date for filing nominations and saw seven candidates filing 14 sets of nominations. 

The candidates who have filed nominations are Nalin Kumar Kateel (BJP), Supreeth Kumar Poojary (Nationalist Congress Party (not received ‘B’ Form) and Hindustan Janta Party), Iruvail Chandrahas Shetty (Ind), Marpalli Ramiah Vasudeva (AAP), Sudatta Jain (Ind), K Yadava Shetty (CPM), Mohammed Haneef Khan (SDPI), Moose Kunhi (BSP), Mohammed  Akram (Social Democratic Party of India dummy), Maxim Pinto (Ind), Abdul  Hameed (Ind), K Kushala Bellare (Ind), Janardhana Poojary (Congress), Ananda Gatty (Ind), Deepak Rajesh Coelho (Ind), Subramanya (Ind) and K N Somashekar (Ind). The last 10 minutes saw four candidate filing nominations. 

Speaking to mediapersons here on Wednesday, the deputy commissioner said that a total cash of Rs 14.70 lakh has been seized since the day of announcement of election till date. A sum of Rs four lakh has been seized on Wednesday morning at Bappanadu check post. The money was being transported without document. 

Additional DC Sadashiva Prabhu said that 23 cases pertaining to model code of conduct and 14 cases have been registered by excise department. Scrutiny will be done on March 27 and March 29 is the last date to withdraw the nominations.
Weapons deposit

The DC has directed all holders of arms licences to deposit their weapons at the police stations concerned or authorised arms dealers in view of forthcoming general elections.

A total of 11,500 arms have already been deposited. About 85 per cent of the arms have been deposited. The police have given Thursday evening as the deadline to deposit arms. Deposited weapons may be taken back on or after May 28, after completion of the election process, he added. 


Systematic Voters’ Education And Electoral Participation (SVEEP) Chairperson Tulasi Maddineni has said that posters to create awareness on the need for exercising franchise will be pasted in all the buses that ply in the region.

Students will form a human chain as a part of creating awareness at Hampankatta and paste stickers to create awareness on voting to all the small vehicles. About one lakh stickers have been printed. 

Posters and flexs of SVEEP are available in the website—dk.nic.in and public can download and display it in their premises for public information without any alteration to its design and content. 

“We have received one lakh pledge letters from school children on exercsing franchise.
The children have been creating awareness on voting among their parents. In cities, resident welfare association members will be asked to take out a pledge to exercise franchise. We are aiming to reach 80 to 90 per cent polling,” she added.

To a query on a few villagers annoucing boycott of election, the CEO said that those who want to boycott election can use NOTA option.

“We want to ensure that the election process is free and fair. The district administration has opened control rooms in all the eight Assembly constituencies and at district headquarters in Mangalore,” the DC said.