An award says 'you're on right path': Gulzar

An award says 'you're on right path': Gulzar
The multi-talented Gulzar is "happy" and "thankful" on being named for the coveted Dadasaheb Phalke Award, which he says is a mark that "you are on the right path".

"I am happy to receive this award and I am thankful to everyone, people and the jury members. An award is a respect which says your work is loved and you are on the right path," the 79-year-old veteran told reporters here Saturday.
The ministry of information and broadcasting announced that the Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2013 will be bestowed on Gulzar, who started his career in 1956.
Lyricist, director, screen writer, producer and poet, Gulzar is the 45th winner of the Dadasaheb Phalke Award which is conferred by the Government of India for outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema.
The award is given on the basis of recommendations of a committee of eminent persons set up by the government for this purpose. This year, a seven-member jury of artists unanimously recommended Gulzar for it.
Born in 1934 in Punjab in pre-independence India, Gulzar started his career in 1956.

As a lyricist, he got his first break in Bimal Roy's "Bandini". He then worked with leading composers like Sachin Dev Burman, Salil Chowdhury, Shankar-Jaikishan, Hemant Kumar, Laxmikant-Pyarelal, Madan Mohan, Rajesh Roshan, Anu Malik and the new age Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy.
Gulzar also had successful partnerships with Rahul Dev Burman, A.R. Rahman and Vishal Bhardwaj. 
He has contributed to several films as script, story and dialogue writer. His directorials include "Mere Apne", "Koshish", "Ãandhi", "Kinara", "Khushboo", "Ãngoor", "Libaas", "Meera", "Lekin" and "Maachis". 
Gulzar's small screen stint included creating series like "Mirza Ghalib" and "Tahreer Munshi Premchand Ki". He wrote lyrics for Doordarshan serials "Hello Zindagi", "Potli Baba Ki" and "Jungle Book".
The 79-year-old was conferred the Sahitya Akademi Award in 2002 and the Padma Bhushan in 2004.
He has won a number of National Film Awards and 20 Filmfare Awards.
At the 81st Oscars in 2009, he won the Academy Award for best original song for "Jai ho" with Rahman.
His poetry has been published in three compilations: "Chand Pukhraaj Ka", "Raat Pashminey Ki" and "Pandrah Paanch Pachattar". His short stories are published in "Raavi Paar" and "Dhuan".

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)