Parties on last leg of campaigning today

Parties on last leg of campaigning today

Parties on last leg of campaigning today

With curtains coming down on electioneering in public at 6 pm on Tuesday, leaders of all the political parties have chalked out busy schedules to make the most of the remaining time and woo the voters.

Prominent leaders, including H D Deve Gowda of the JD(S), the BJP’s B S Yeddyurappa, Ananth Kumar and Pralhad Joshi are confining themselves to their constituencies in a last-ditch effort to reach out to people, while Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is to make flying stops in three districts to back Congress nominees. All 28 seats in the State will go to polls on April 17.

Chief Electoral Officer Anil Kumar Jha said door-to-door campaign in small groups is allowed till 10 pm on April 16.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is scheduled to tour three constituencies of Chikmagalur, Haveri and Dharwad on Tuesday, while KPCC chief G Parameshwara is set to sweat out in his home district Tumkur. Randeep Singh Surjewala, Haryana minister, is scheduled to seek votes for the Congress candidates in Bangalore South, Bangalore North and Bangalore Central.

Most of State BJP leaders, including party president Pralhad Joshi, Yeddyurappa and Ananth Kumar are contesting the elections.

Actor-turned-politician Pavan Kalyan will campaign for the BJP in Raichur, Kolar and Chikkaballapur.

Kannada actor Tara will campaign in Mysore, while Malavika will campaign for Ananth Kumar and Sadananda Gowda in Bangalore South and Bangalore North constituencies, respectively.

JD(S) star campaigner H D Kumaraswamy is scheduled to campaign in Bangalore Rural and Chikkaballapur segments, where he is the party candidate. Party national president Deve Gowda, who is contesting from Hassan, will campaign in his constituency, where he is camping for the last two days.