AIADMK all-out to retain Tiruvallur

AIADMK all-out to retain Tiruvallur

 Five legislators including three high profile ministers were leaving no stone unturned to ensure the ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) retain the prestigious Tiruvallur Lok Sabha seat where five lakh new voters, the highest in a single constituency in Tamil Nadu, is expected to play a key role in the April 24 general elections.

Having bagged five of the six segments in the May 2011 Assembly polls, with three of them including the dynamic Commercial Taxes Minister B V Ramana becoming ministers in the present government, local AIADMK leaders are under severe pressure to ensure victory of the party’s sitting MPs P Venugopal who is facing a stiff challenge from S Yuvaraj of Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK).

Also, the presence of D Ravikumar of the Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) contesting as an ally of the Opposition M Karunanidhi led Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) is expected to split the dalit votes here.

However, Tiruvallur was not in the priority list of his party when the VCK negotiated with the DMK, said Ravikumar. Moreover, factions in the local DMK have added to Ravikumar's problem, though all local DMK leaders are canvassing for him here. Situated in Tamil Nadu’s northern stretch, Tiruvallur is one of the backward districts with regard to education and employment.

Ramana is using all his skills to woo the five lakh new and young voters by connecting them with voice call systems, besides mobile applications.

On the other hand Yuvaraj is going length and breath of the constituency especially in the rural areas, where he is also banking on fresh voters and 'Modi's wave'

The Dalit-dominated Tiruvallur (reserved) seat is one of the Parliamentary segments in the State that has recorded the highest number of new voters ahead of this general election.
Dismissing the so-called Modi wave as a myth, Venugopal said the minorities and Christians, who constitute about ten per cent, would neither vote for DMDK, a constituent of the BJP-led Front, nor the Congress, and the AIADMK would therefore become their natural choice.