Amma wave sweeps TN as AIADMK wins 37 seats

Amma wave sweeps TN as AIADMK wins 37 seats

Amma wave sweeps TN as AIADMK wins 37 seats

All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) supremo and Chief Minister J Jayalalitha’s gamble to contest alone in the Lok Sabha elections paid off and the party registered a landslide victory by winning 37 of the 39 seats, prompting commentators to see an “Amma” wave in the state.

The Opposition Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and its erstwhile ally, the Congress, which had put up a good show in the previous polls, drew a blank. The star candidates of the DMK, including 2G scam tainted A Raja (Nilgiris), former Union ministers Dayanidhi Maran (Central Chennai), T R Baalu (Thanjavur), suffered an embarrassing defeat at the hands of the AIADMK.

The two remaining seats were won by the BJP and the PMK. This is the best-ever performance by the AIADMK. The party won 18 seats in the 1998 polls, with the support of the BJP-led government headed by A B Vajpayee, before withdrawing its support, which toppled the government.

The AIADMK also won all Chennai seats including North, South and Central, considered to be the DMK stronghold. The AIADMK candidates have won by a margin of more than one lakh votes in more than 10 constituencies.

The BJP-led NDA that included the Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) led by actor Vijayakanth, Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK) headed by leader Vaiko and the S Ramadoss-led Vanniyar outfit Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK), besides the Left parties and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) have also failed to make any big impact at the hustings.

BJP state president Pon Radhakrishnan won the Kanniyakumari seat and PMK candidate and former Union minister Anbumani Ramadoss secured victory in Dharmapuri constituency, in an election otherwise swept away by the AIADMK.

Hailing the party’s massive victory as “historic and unprecedented”, Jayalalitha said the AIADMK had achieved the victory on its own without any alliance partners.

She also wished the new government and expressed hope that it will be friendly towards Tamil Nadu. “We will function as a responsible political party,” she said.

When asked whether the AIADMK would support the BJP-led NDA, she said such a situation has not arisen now.

For the DMK, this is yet another worst performance after 1989 and 1991 polls when it failed to win even a single seat.

The sibling rivalry in the DMK’s first family – between former Union minister Alagiri and former deputy chief minister M K Stalin – has also seemed to have dented the party’s show.

The Alagiri factor has also wrecked the fortunes of the DMK after he was expelled from the party.

Putting up a brave face, DMK president M Karunanidhi extended his wishes to the BJP and its prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi and said he bows before the people’s verdict. “The DMK accepts people’s verdict with a bowed head. We have faced similar defeats and also bigger victories than other parties,” he said.

For the first time, the Congress drew pathetic picture as none of its prominent candidates performed well. At Sivanganga, considered as the pocketborough of the Congress, Union Finance Minister P Chidambaram’s son Karti Chidambaram was defeated.