Modi tsunami sweeps Rajasthan

Modi tsunami sweeps Rajasthan

Modi tsunami swept Rajasthan on Thursday with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) registering an astounding victory by wining all the 25 parliamentary seat in the state.

For the first time in the political history of Rajasthan, the saffron party has registered a land slide victory, while the Congress, which had 20 MPs from Rajasthan, recorded one of its worst ever defeats in the Lok Sabha polls.

The biggest victory was registered in Jaipur where BJP’s Ram Charan Bohra defeated Congress’ Mahesh Joshi by a margin of 5.5 lakh votes. This is seen as biggest victory margin by any candidate in Lok Sabha elections in Rajasthan.

Senior Congress leaders, including Pradesh Congress Committee chief Sachin Pilot, general secretary C P Joshi, former Union ministers Bhanwar Jeetendra Singh and Namo Narayan Meena, Jyoti Mirdha and Girija Vyas lost the elections by huge margins.
In three constituencies of Barmer, Dausa and Churu, the Congress failed to come in direct contest and was pushed to third position.

The presence of Modi wave is evident from the results in Barmer, Sikar and Dausa constituencies where BJP rebels failed to dent the party despite it being a triangular contest.

In Barmer, BJP’s Sona Ram defeated BJP rebel and nearest rival Jaswant Singh by a margin of 87,000 votes, pushing the Congress to third position. In Dausa, the BJP managed to win the elections by a narrow margin of 45,000 votes.

Former Indian cricket captain Mohammed Azharuddin too met similar fate and succumbed to Modi wave in Tonk-Sawaimadhopur constituency.

In Jhunjhunu and Bikaner constituencies, the Congress selected Lok Sabha candidates by conducting primaries, but the experiment failed.

The Congress’ performance was worst than that of the 1977 elections in which Bhartiya Lok Dal and the Janata party together won 24 seats. Nathu Ram Mirdha was the lone winner on a Congress ticket from Nagaur seat.

Grand celebrations were on in the BJP camp and immediately after the announcement of results, Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje joined in.

“We have kept our promise and achieved the mission. At last we have a Congress free India now,” Raje said. The victory is completely attributed to Narendra Modi who has electrified the entire country, she added.

Meanwhile, in the Congress camp, Sachin Pilot took the sole responsibility for the party’s defeat and announced to submit his resignation to the party high command.

“I take the sole responsibility of the party’s defeat. I will soon send my resignation to party high command in New Delhi. I congratulate the BJP on their victory,” said Pilot. We have different ideology but we are not enemies. Whosoever comes to power, the basic objective is to serve the people, he added.

Pilot said the party has accepted defeat and that the people have voted against the Congress and UPA. But the Congress is a vibrant party and it will soon make a come back he added. “it’s time for introspection,” said Pilot.