NDA best tally in Bihar at 31

NDA best tally in Bihar at 31

Showing its best-ever performance in Bihar, the Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliance made a clean sweep in the State winning 31 seats out of 40 Lok Sabha constituencies here.

The RJD-led combine could win only seven seats, while the ruling Janata Dal (United) scraped through in the remaining two constituencies.

While the BJP emerged victorious in 22 seats out of the 30 it contested, the Lok Janshakti Party headed by Ram Vilas Paswan was the biggest gainer as it won six out of seven seats it contested. LJP chief Paswan, his son Chirag, brother Ram Chandra Paswan and three other candidates won in the Modi wave, the other smaller outfit Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (with which the BJP entered into a pre-poll alliance), won all the three constituencies it contested.

BJP leader Shatrughan Sinha won with a margin of over 2 lakh votes. Former Union home secretary R K Singh, contesting as BJP nominee, too romped home from Ara, while his party colleague Rajiv Pratap Rudy trounced former Bihar Chief Minister Rabri Devi at Saran.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)