Modi tsunami sweeps Rajasthan

Modi tsunami sweeps Rajasthan

Modi tsunami sweeps Rajasthan

Modi tsunami swept Rajasthan on Thursday with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) registering an astounding victory by wining all the 25 parliamentary seat in the state.

For the first time in the political history of Rajasthan, the saffron party has registered a land slide victory, while the Congress, which had 20 MPs from Rajasthan, recorded one of its worst ever defeats in the Lok Sabha polls.

The biggest victory was registered in Jaipur where BJP’s Ram Charan Bohra defeated Congress’ Mahesh Joshi by a margin of 5.5 lakh votes. This is seen as biggest victory margin by any candidate in Lok Sabha elections in Rajasthan.

Senior Congress leaders, including Pradesh Congress Committee chief Sachin Pilot, general secretary C P Joshi, former Union ministers Bhanwar Jeetendra Singh and Namo Narayan Meena, Jyoti Mirdha and Girija Vyas lost the elections by huge margins.

In three constituencies of Barmer, Dausa and Churu, the Congress failed to come in direct contest and was pushed to third position.

The presence of Modi wave is evident from the results in Barmer, Sikar and Dausa constituencies where BJP rebels failed to dent the party despite it being a triangular contest.

In Barmer, BJP’s Sona Ram defeated BJP rebel and nearest rival Jaswant Singh by a margin of 87,000 votes, pushing the Congress to third position. Former Indian cricket captain Mohammed Azharuddin too met similar fate and succumbed to Modi wave in Tonk-Sawaimadhopur constituency.