20 Muslim MPs in next Lok Sabha

20 Muslim MPs in next Lok Sabha

20 Muslim MPs in next Lok Sabha

The 16th Lok Sabha will have one of the lowest numbers of Muslim MPs with just about 20 of them emerging victorious in the Lok Sabha polls which saw a saffron surge in the whole north and western parts of India.

Uttar Pradesh, which has 80 seats, has not sent any Muslim candidate in the just concluded election.

An analysis of the results shows that there are about 20 winners who are from the Muslim community in the 543-member House while BJP does not have a single MP belonging the community.

In the new Lok Sabha, the maximum number of seven Muslim MPs would be from West Bengal followed by Bihar where at least four Muslim candidates have won.

Going by estimates, there are more than 25 Muslim members in the outgoing Lower House.

Trinamool Congress has at least three to four members from that community.

They include Idris Ali (Basirhat), Sultan Ahmed (Uluberia) and Mamtaz Sanghamita (Burdwan-durgapur).

Others from West Bengal include CPI(M) members Badaruddoza Khan (Murshidabad) and Md. Salim (Raiganj). Also there are two Congress members Mausam Noor (Maldaha Uttar) and Abu Hasem Khan Chowdhury (Maldaha Dakshin).

From Bihar, there are at least four Muslim MPs in the new Lok Sabha. They include RJD's Tasleemuddin (Araria), NCP's Tariq Anwar (Katihar), LJP's Chaudhary Mahboob Ali Qaisar (Khagaria) and Congress member Mohd Asrarul Haq Qasmi, (Kishanganj).

From Jammu & Kashmir, there are three Muslim candidates who have won this elections including PDP leader Mehbooba Mufti (Anantnag).

Two others, Muzaffar Hussaini Baig (Baramulla) and Tariq Hameed Karra (Srinagar), are also from PDP.

There are two Muslim MPs from Assam -- Siraj Uddin Ajmal (Barpeta) and Badruddin Ajmal (Dhubri).

Both are part of All India United Democratic Front NCP's Mohammed Faizal PP has won from Lakshadweep while AIADMK member Anwhar Raajhaa has made it to the Lower House from Ramanathapuram in Tamil Nadu.

All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen leader Asaduddin Owaisi has retained his Hyderabad seat.

Interestingly, no Muslim candidate won from Uttar Pradesh, which has 80 seats.
Registering their best-ever showing, BJP has won 282 seats in the Lok Sabha polls, becoming the first party after 1984 election to have majority in the Lower House.

Its leader Narendra Modi would be taking over as the Prime Minister soon.