RS members alloted to Telangana, Seemandhra

RS members alloted to Telangana, Seemandhra

A draw of lots was on Friday held to allot Rajya Sabha members to Telangana and residual Andhra Pradesh following division of the state.

G Sudharani, C M Ramesh and G Mohan Rao (all from the TDP) and V Hanumantha Rao, Palvai Govardhan Reddy, Ananda Bhaskar Rapolu, and K V P Ramachandra Rao, (all Congress) have been deemed to have been elected from Telangana and the rest 11 members from Andhra Pradesh.

The draw of lots took place in the presence of Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari.

The First Schedule of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act states that 18 members of the Upper House will be divided between the residual state and Telangana based upon “drawing lots” to be organised by the chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

The lottery procedure was to take place on Thursday but it did not happen.

The members who have now been assigned to Andhra Pradesh are K Chiranjeevi, Renuka Chowdhury, Mohd Ali Khan, Jairam Ramesh, T Subbarami Reddy and J D Seelam (all Congress), Y S Chowdary, T Devender Goud, Thota Seetharama Lakshmi (all TDP) and K Keshava Rao (TRS).