Brilliant Raksha grabs title in style

Brilliant Raksha grabs title in style

Kartikey, Arjun share top slot on table

Brilliant Raksha grabs title in style

Raksha Phadke reserved her best for the last, emerging triumphant in commanding fashion in the IGU-Usha Southern India Ladies and Junior Girls Amateur Golf Championship here on Thursday.

Raksha, a dark horse having been ranked 22nd in the Order of Merit List, rode brilliantly on her sudden surge in form, blasting a four-under 68 to post a thumping five-shot victory after totaling 214 at the Karnataka Golf Association.

Tvesa Malik, who trailed Raksha by just a shot overnight, produced a sedate 72 to finish runner-up while pre-tournament favourite Aditi Ashok finally found her bearings, carding a 71 to sign off joint third along with Vrishali Sinha (69) at 220.

The 19-year-old Raksha all but sealed the title following a blistering start, sinking five birdies (3rd, 4th, 5th, 7th, 8th) on the opening nine that helped her open up a massive seven-shot advantage at the turn. She then played percentage golf on the inward journey, firing a birdie against two bogeys to seal victory.

Leading scores (after 54 holes): Ladies: 214: Raksha Phadke (77, 69, 68); 219: Tvesa Malik (76, 71, 72); 220: Vrishali Sinha (76, 75, 69), Aditi Ashok (77, 72, 71); 221: Seher Atwal (75, 72, 74). Category A: 220: Vrishali Sinha, Aditi Ashok; 221: Seher Atwal. Category B: 235: Dolma Rawat (83, 77, 75), Ananya Datar (84, 74, 77). Dolma beat Ananya on first play-off hole. 244: Ishvari Prasanna  (84, 79, 81).Category C: 240: Esha Sharma (80, 81, 79); 243: Khushi Nehra (85, 81, 77), Pranavi S Urs (87, 78, 78).

Kartikey, Arjun in lead

Kartikey Vashist and Arjun Prasad shot matching one-under 71 to share the lead in the penultimate round of the IGU-Yes Bank Karnataka Juniors Golf Championship at the Eagleton Golf Resort on Thursday.

The duo is locked at 215, just two shots ahead of the favourite and in-form Viraj Madappa who struggled with a 73.

Leading scores (after 54 holes): Category A&B: 215: Kartikey Vashist (74, 70, 71), Arjun Prasad (69, 75, 71); 217: Viraj Madappa (73, 71, 73); 218: Kartik Sharma (74, 76, 68).

Category B: 218: Kartik Sharma; 226: Kshitij Naveed Kaul (79, 76, 71), Ranveer Grewal (78, 73, 75).