Ganguly, Saha tons save Bengal the blushes

Ganguly, Saha tons save Bengal the blushes

Ganguly was unbeaten on 110 while wicketkeeper-batsman Saha gave him a fine support at the other end remaining unbeaten on 106. The duo shared an unbroken fifth wicket stand of 222 as Bengal finished the day with 265 for four.

Electing to bat in the last round Group B match, Bengal had a miserable first session losing four wickets for 43 as Delhi medium-pacer Parvinder Awana scalped two. But from there on, Delhi bowlers found the going tough with the veteran Ganguly, sharing a fluent partnership with Saha.

It was a vintage Ganguly on display with two big hits and 11 boundaries in his unbeaten knock that came off 158 balls.

Super League brief scores:

Group A: At Hyderabad: Hyderabad: 269/4 in 90 overs (Anirudh Singh 75, Ambati Rayudu 106, Anoop Pai 29, Syed Qadri 34) vs Tamil Nadu. At Mumbai: Mumbai: 352/3 in 90 overs (Susanth Marathe 105 batting, Ajinkya Rahane 56, Rohit Sharma 145 batting; Ishwar Choudhary 2-66) vs Gujarat.

At Delhi: Railways: 191/6 in 59 overs (Faiz Fazal 87, Marripuri Suresh 31 batting; Rahul Sharma 5-58) vs Punjab.

At Dharamsala: Himachal Pradesh: 125 all out in 43.2 overs (Paras Dogra 25;
Basanth Mohanty 3-36, Alok Chandra Sahoo 2-15, Dhiraj Singh 4-29) vs Orissa: 55/2 in 26.5 overs (Mohinderraj Sharma 2-27).

Group B: At Kolkata: Bengal: 265/4 in 77 overs (Sourav Ganguly 110 n.o., Wriddhiman Saha 106 n.o.; Parvinder Awana 2-55) vs Delhi.

At Pune: Maharashtra: 288 all out in 85.3 overs (Harshad Khadiwale 111, Rohan Bhosle 30, Sangram Atitkar 50, Kiran Adhav 28; Irfan Pathan 3-48, Bhargav Bhatt 2-75, Murtuja Vahora 3-45) vs Baroda: 11 for no loss in two overs.
Plate semifinals:

At Guwahati: Andhra: 212/9 in 93 overs (Prasad Reddy 53, Avadhanam Rakesh 66, Y Venugopal Rao 25, Bodapati Sumanth 25; Sairaj Bahatule 2-61, Arlen Konwar 4-42) vs Assam.

At Rohtak: Haryana: 211/6 in 88 overs (Nitin Saini 59, Sunny Singh 27, Manav Sharma 42, Sumeet Sharma 25; Wilkin Mota 2-59, Timir Chanda 3-32) vs Tripura.