Gritty Aditi stuns Maria to set up Saina clash

Gritty Aditi stuns Maria to set up Saina clash

Badminton: Indian Grand Prix: Chetan brushes aside Sai Dutts feeble challenge

World number eight Saina trounced sixth seeded Switzerland’s Jeanine Cicognini 21-12, 21-10 in just 24 minutes, while 17th ranked Chetan came better off compatriot RMV Gurusaidutt 21-16, 21-13 in a battle that lasted 35 minutes.

Chetan will now take on fifth seeded Indonesian Dyonisius Hayom Rumbaka in the final on Sunday.

But it was Aditi, who stole the show with her power-packed performance, as the fourth-seeded Indian saw off second-seeded Maria Febe Kusumastuti of Indonesia in a 33-minute clash. Aditi, in a see-saw battle, cruised to a 5-2 lead and kept her rival on the toes but the Indonesian slowly narrowed the gap and drew level at 14-all and 20-all, before Aditi grabbed two crucial point to seal the first game in her favour.

The second game started on an aggressive note as the duo moved neck-and-neck from 2-2 to 6-6 to take the lead. Aditi then scored five points to zoom past her rival with a 13-7 lead and then wrapped up the issue. 

Among other Indians in fray, third seeded mixed-doubles pair of Shruti Kurian and Tarun Kona beat Indonesian duo of Devi Tika Permatasari and Adnan Fauzi 21-18, 19-21, 21-16 in a 43-minute match to set up a clash with compatriots Aparna Balan and Arun Vishnu, who beat fellow-mates Pradnya Gadre and Akshay Dewalkar 18-21, 22-20, 22-20.

Results (all semifinals): Men: Dyonisius Hayon Rumbaka bt Kwong Beng Chan 21-13, 21-16; Chetan Anand bt RMV Gurusaidutt 21-16, 21-13.

 Doubles: Adnan Fauzi/ Tri Kus-umawardana lt Tarun Kona/Arun Vishnu 17-21, 21-13, 16-21; Akshay Dewalkar/ Jishnu Sanyal bt Alwin Francis/ Shankar Gopan 19-21, 21-8, 21-18.  Women: Aditi Mutatkar bt Maria Febe Kusumastuti 22-20, 21-13; Saina Nehwal bt Jeanine Cicognini 21-12, 21-10. Doubles: Nadya Melati/ Devi Tika Permatasari lt Megha Marin Ninan/ Prajakta Sawant 15-21, 8-21.Mixed doubles: Shruti Kurian/Tarun Kona bt Devi Tia Permatasari 21-18, 19-21, 21-16; Aparna Balan/ Arun Vishnu bt Pradnya G/ Akshay 18-21, 22-20, 22-20.