Amanpreet-Sudeep hit the front in Dakshin Dare

Amanpreet-Sudeep hit the front in Dakshin Dare

Defending champion Amanpreet Singh (co-driver Sudeep) hit the front on the opening day of the Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare Rally here on Tuesday.

After traversing a distance of 400 kilometres, Amanpreet-Sudeep pair, driving a Maruti Gypsy, led the standings in the Extreme 4-wheeler category after clocking 30.35 seconds.

Team Maruti duo of Sandeep Sharma  and Varun Davessar, also in a Gypsy, were in second at 30.42 while Druva and Roopesh (31.03) were in third.

In the Extreme Bike category, defending champion Natraj (30.56) seized the lead with Mohit Verma (32.18) at a close second (32.18) Promod Joshua (32.22) was third.

The second special stage was cancelled for safety reasons after organisers assessed the risk of a possible mishap involving the local public.

Results (top-three): Extreme car: Amanpreet Ahluwalia/ Sudeep Haldar (30.35 seconds) 1; Sandeep Sharma/ D Varun (30.42) 2; C Druva/ BC Roopesh (31.03) 3.

Extreme bike: Nataraj (30.56) 1; Mohit Verma (32.18) 2; Pramod Joshua (32.22) 3.