Candidates cry foul over rejection of 2011 KAS list

Candidates cry foul over rejection of 2011 KAS list

Candidates cry foul over rejection of 2011 KAS list

The State government’s decision to reject the final list announced by the Karnataka Public Service Commission (KPSC) for the 362 posts of gazetted probationers of the 2011 batch, came as a rude shock to many candidates who were on a hunger strike at the Freedom Park since past 20 days seeking appointment orders.

As they learnt that the State Cabinet had rejected the list, some of the candidates even tried to immolate by dousing themselves with petrol. However, the police intervened and prevented them from taking the extreme step. The candidates whose names figured in the selection list were on a protest as there had been a delay in issuing them the appointment orders.

Shocked and disappointed by the Government’s decision, the protesters demanded Chief Minister Siddaramaiah’s resignation. “Based on an anonymous letter, the government ordered a CID probe into the alleged irregularities in the KPSC selections. Acting on the CID report, it has taken such a decision, which is anti-democratic,” the protesters said.

“We come from poor families and have burnt midnight oil to clear the exams. But we are paying for somebody else’s mistake. The government is punishing all of us. Let the government find out who the real culprit is.

Siddaramaiah came to power promising upliftment of the downtrodden but he has done the maximum damage to the backward communities by taking such a decision. He has no right to continue in the office of chief minister,” they said while venting their ire.

A candidate said that after the KPSC released the final selection list, many of the candidates had quit their previous jobs and some had even skipped the UPSC civil services interviews. 

The candidates demanded the government to issue them conditional appointment orders and continue the probe.

Former minister C T Ravi, former chairperson of Backward Classes Commission C S Dwarakanath, BSP leader Marasandra Muniyappa, Karnataka Rajya Raitha Sangha leader Kodihalli Chandrashekhar and others visited the site and expressed their solidarity  the candidates.