Big stars stick to IPL franchises for CLT20

Big stars stick to IPL franchises for CLT20

Players named by more than two teams have finally settled for their respective Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises for the Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) that would be played in India, Sep 13-Oct 4.

Dean Kino, governing council member of CLT20, Friday said eight players scheduled to take part in the competition were in high demand after being named in more than one squad, after their respective Twenty20 clubs from around the world qualified for the tournament.

But the eight players Corey Anderson (Mumbai Indians), George Bailey (Kings XI Punjab), Patrick Cummins (Kolkata Knight Riders), Jacques Kallis (Kolkata Knight Riders), Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians), David Miller (Kings XI Punjab), Kieron Pollard (Mumbai Indians) and Dwayne Smith (Chennai Super Kings) have opted to play for their respective IPL franchises.

"Like previous seasons, players who have been named by more than one team have been asked to nominate which side they are going to represent. Players are free to make any decision they wish. Teams are then allowed to replace any player that has withdrawn from their squad and elected to play for another side," said Kino.

"CLT20 regulations state that when a player elects to play for their 'away' team, that team must pay the 'home' team $150,000 compensation per player. A 'home' team is classified as a team from the country a player is eligible to represent in international cricket," he added.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)